Gratitude Monday

 

 

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for,
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

snowflakes drifting lazily through the air
a big fat letter from my family
sitting in a theater allowing the beautiful music of Handel’s Messiah to wash over and around me
a Christmas tree blooming with poinsettias
glittery stars hung from the ceiling
rich fudgy brownies
a thoughtful game of Blokus 3D
a rowdy game of Scrabble Slam
a hilarious game of Uno Attack
two teenaged boys picking out some Beethoven on a piano
kittens frolicking in their first snow
hot chocolate with marshmallows

three little girls helping their daddy with his song ministry
my husband’s  enjoyment of his new truck
an email from a friend in New Zealand, where it is spring (and tomorrow )
the sparkle in baby Amy’s eyes

And speaking of beautiful gifts, we’re entering the season where we celebrate the greatest gift ever given:

Jesus, our Messiah

Given by the Father
in whom we live
and move
and have our being

Given to a virgin
who was humbled by others
but blessed by God

Given for me and you,
once sinners who had no hope
but now through Him can find eternal life
and peace
and JOY

No other gift can even compare
but still I am thankful for all the other
smaller gifts,
the everyday gifts.
God gives us so much more
than we can comprehend.

 

I heard a story about a man in Africa who lived in a hut made of straw and cow manure.
He was asked what one thing he would wish for if he could have just one wish.
He thought a moment and finally said, “My family and I know the love of Jesus.
I can’t think of anything more I could wish for.”

Is that how you’re feeling today?
Do all other gifts pale to insignificance in comparison with this
Greatest Gift of All?

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gratitude Monday

  1. quilt_cats says:

    All gifts pale before the gift of Jesus- So true! 

  2. fwren says:

    What is Scrabble Slam?

  3. Hutch5 says:

    beautiful~the last story – convicting! oh, to have a heart content only w/ Jesus.

  4. homefire says:

    @fwren – http://www.hasbro.com/familygamenight/en_US/shop/details.cfm?guid=E8E0CBDA-6C57-1014-ADF5-8E2A583F4B56&product_id=24046&src=endeca  It’s a lot of fun with four letter words!    You don’t take turns, so it gets a little wild, scrambling to be the first to slam your card down to change the word into another word.

Leave a Reply

