I Remember Wednesday

 

~ a snippet from the recesses of my memory~

I remember once when I was a little girl, I stayed at my Grandma’s.  She had a mantel clock, which I loved and always stopped to listen to.  Every fifteen minutes, it chimed–four chimes at a quarter past the hour, eight at half past, twelve at a quarter till, and sixteen just before it struck the hour.  I mentioned how I loved the chimes, and Grandma said, “I used to know some words to that,” and in her old, cracked voice, she sang for me.  She actually knew three verses.

We are the chimes
That weave the hours,
Making them sweet
As chains of flowers.

Out of the sky
We bring a tune,
Ever the same
From June to June.

Echoes we make
Are born to die
Present or past
Or bye and bye.

When I grew up and got married, she gave us a chime clock like hers for a wedding gift, so now when I hear the chimes from my own clock, I remember Grandma, and I hear her singing in my mind.

That’s always been one of my favorite memories of Grandma, partly because I don’t remember hearing her sing any other time, and partly because it taught me something that no one else seems to know.  Has anyone else ever heard these words for the Westminster chimes?  These are the chimes that Big Ben plays.  Here’s an audio, if you aren’t familiar with them.  It’s the first link on the page.

http://www.champsclock.com/downloads.htm


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Remember Wednesday

  1. I’ve never heard the song. What a glorious memory you carry. Thank you for sharing it. 

  2. Of course, there’s the outside chance that your grandmother was simply playing an ornery trick on your young mind……according to an inscription in the clockroom of Big Ben, the lyrics are “All through this hour/Lord, be my guide/And by Thy power/No foot shall slide.”

  3. homefire says:

    @brother_barabbas – Yeah, I realize that there is an “official” one for Big Ben.  I also know that a lot of melodies have many, many different lyrics set to them, and I’ve never heard this one anywhere else, so it’s special to me.  What in the world do you mean by “ornery?”

  4. @homefire – I’ll not ‘steal’ your special memory……I promise! I’m just making sure (again) that we’ve got a full, accurate report!

  5. BooksForMe says:

    What a nice, nice, story!  How are you doing?  How is the family?  I continue to pray for you and yours.  Hope you’re enjoying this holiday season.  Amy’s first Christmas!!!  

  6. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Yeah, and she’s just starting to say some words, so we’re definitely working on “Grandma!” 

Leave a Reply

