Grateful? Yep.

 

I wrote this on Monday, when I generally try to write my gratitude post.  It’s different than usual, but it’s what was on my heart right then.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So what am I grateful for today?

More than anything, my marriage. That’s what is foremost in my mind at the moment. After spending a lot of time this weekend thinking about marriages that are either crashing and burning or just slowly having the life squeezed out of them, I’m feeling incredibly thankful to have been so blessed in marriage. I don’t understand how two people who once wanted to spend all their time together, who laughed together and played together and watched sunsets together in awe of God’s creation, can arrive at a point where they want do hateful things to each other, where they get restraining orders against each other, where they simply can’t stand to be near each other. How does it happen?

I don’t know. I just can’t imagine. But I do know how it doesn’t happen. And those are some of the things that I am so grateful for in my own marriage.

We spend as much time together as we can.
We touch a lot.
We laugh together.
We talk about what we’ve done during the day.
We realize that we can’t necessarily fix everything that’s wrong in our lives, but we still care and we still listen.
We say, “I love you.” Often.
When one of us is cranky and difficult, we overlook it.
We play games.
We talk about our dreams.
We tease each other.
When one makes a stupid mistake and is sorry, the other forgives.
When the offender doesn’t act sorry, the offended remembers that sometimes they act like a jerk, too, and still forgives.
We try do special favors for each other.
When we disagree, we still try to understand each other and respect each other.
We share silly jokes.
We eat meals together.
We compliment each other.
And we laugh. A LOT.

I really wonder if that isn’t one of the most important things. Laughing. Because in all the other things, we fail sometimes. We aren’t always thoughtful and forgiving, and sometimes we forget that we need to talk, and sometimes we get caught up in the busy-ness of life and don’t take time for each other, but as long as we always go back to laughing together, it seems that the other things happen, too.

 

Grateful?  You bet I am.  Thank you, Lord!

o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/  o/





About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grateful? Yep.

  1. quilt_cats says:

    That’s sweet.  It sounds like the love is still strong with you and your husband.  It saddens me when I see so many people being so hateful to their spouses… sad.  I’m grateful for my husband too.

  2. You said a mouthful. Laughter…. it can get you past the worst things in a relationship. This IS something to be grateful for. 

  3. robinbritt says:

    thank you for sharing your thankfulness.  thanks also for sharing your tips

  4. mcbery says:

    I’m thankful too.Thanks for the post.

  5. walkintrust says:

    And you radiate that love to your friends.  Which is a blessing!  Love You.

  6. BooksForMe says:

    Laughter really is a powerful thing.  So true!  You can’t stay mad when you’re laughing.I think unforgiveness is the reason for so many broken marriages.  It leads to bitterness, and that just opens the door to destruction.  It ruins everything.

  7. ShineOn1983 says:

    You said you don’t understand how two people who once loved each other and wanted to be together all the time, could go to hating each other. As one who has experienced this, it’s just a matter of one person doing all the work for awhile, and then when they see that the other person isn’t making any effort, get tired and give up. Then they get bitter and resentful and want to hurt the other person the way that person has hurt them by not trying. It takes two people, ultimately to make a marriage work. One person can hold things together, with God’s help, for awhile, but in the end, it takes two. Or if you are very, very grounded in the Lord Jesus Christ, you can carry the marriage for a very long time, and He can heal the wounds, but it takes a strong reliance on the Lord. Every minute of every day.God has been so good, and continues to work on my heart and attitudes. Bless Him. Thank you for your support and prayers:)

  8. homefire says:

    @ShineOn1983 – Thanks for your comment.  I continue to pray for you and your marriage!  Love you, sister~

Leave a Reply

