Pumpkins!

 

Finally!  I’m done with grading schoolwork and can do something fun.  At least for a moment, before I need to make pizza for supper and take care of the turkey carcasses I am cooking for broth.

I’ve been wanting to write about my new experience this fall.  Two weeks ago, I canned pumpkin for the first time.  A friend had more pumpkins than she could use, great big ones, so I decided to give it a shot.  Hey, why not? 

Amy and her mom came over and we worked together.

Amy's Pumpkins

Ready to carve

Pumpkin Still Life

The first cut is the hardest.

IMG_1091

Then we chopped it all up

pumpkin chunks

…baked it

pumpkin baking

…peeled the skin off and ran it through a grinder

IMG_1110

…and canned it!

pumpkin jars

We ended up with 50 quarts to split between us, so that should keep us in pumpkin pies and muffins for awhile.    It was an interesting project and very rewarding–it’s always fun to try something new!

Amy had a fun day, too, of course, keeping us all entertained!

Cute Punkin

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pumpkins!

  1. Oh she is ADOREABLE!That’s a lot of work.  Enjoy the reward!

  2. Neeka1 says:

    Awwwww ~ Amy is too cute.I have never canned pumpkin.

  3. SpazzyMommy says:

    Looks like a big job!! 🙂 Your little one is cute.

  4. walkintrust says:

    What some of do for fun!!!???

  5. I’ve been getting ready to make pumpkin butter…I’m glad to see the visual on cutting them up and baking them.  Well done…what a fun post!

  6. Mandy says:

    Wow you have some good pictures! =) Most of the comments are how adorable Amy is. =) Isn’t that true? She’s the cutest one there is. Haha you forgot to mention what a stressful ordeal it was to put those pictures on here. =) Lol I heard how you said, “I want to SCREAM.” =) ~Mandy~

  7. homefire says:

    @The_Ragged_Edge – Oh, pumpkin butter sounds yummy!  I’ve never had it, but I’d like to try it sometime.@walkintrust – oh, I read a lot of books, too….  @Mandy – Well, one of these days I’ll get it all figured out…hopefully.  Or at least get my pictures organized–that would help a lot!  And thanks for taking that last picture while my hands were all messy, btw! 

  8. I know which pumpkin was the most wonderful!

  9. lilian16 says:

    HelloI am called rosana I saw your profile today  and found youworthy to be mine as some one whom i can lay on hisarms as long as love is concern, caring and teassing you all the nightlong, If you are interested inknowing more about and for me to send you somepictures of mine my contact thus:(rosanaodily@yahoo.com ) wating to hear from you. Please don’t reply me back on the site, I don’t have access to the site.please contct me tomy mail box (rosanaodily@yahoo.com)Loving you foreverrosana

  10. lglavy says:

    OH, isn’t it so much more fun canning with your daughter than all alone?  Nat and I did a bunch this summer and it was fun and so rewarding.  We even ran out of jars and had to borrow some!  Next summer should be even more fun with a  baby to entertain us!!

  11. homefire says:

    @lglavy –   Yes, I agree!  Our children and grandchildren are a precious gift.

  12. Janelle says:

    I did a couple pumpkins up that week too, the same way! Did you do anything with the seeds? I tried a recipe my Mom found over the internet. You can boil them in a SALTY water for 10 minutes, then drain, drizzle a baking sheet with oil, lay out the seeds and bake till they start to barely brown. They were a big hit! You can eat the hull and all! My hubby wants me to do some more for munchies when he’s out hunting, etc. Always something new to learn! I’ve always thrown them out before…

Leave a Reply

