Gifts and Oddments

 

holy experience

 

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

homemade ice cream and apple crisp
leaves floating on puddles
singing old hymns with Alzheimers patients, watching them nod their heads and smile
Amy trying to crawl and falling on her nose
children jumping on a trampoline
kittens climbing the screen and tumbling down, only to try once more
roast beef, potatoes and carrots in the crock pot
children playing barefoot in mud puddles
a married couple exchanging a glance across the room, communicating without words
the sound of my son’s guitar drifting down through the floor
a new leaf blower
a wonderful neck rub from my son
an old song bringing echoes of a memory
a cartoon that made me really laugh


And the odd rambling:

          Why isn’t devoid the opposite of void?

 

I was browsing through the Miles Kimball catalog, looking for Christmas gift ideas, and noticed that they have a whole new line of reproduction Depression glass.  Interesting…  I had to wonder if there’s a reason for that.  How very timely.



 


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gifts and Oddments

  1. fwren says:

    I would enjoy watching your kittens play ~ expect they have grown muchly ~    Your musing about the devoid/void makes me smile ~ the English language is so interesting sometimes ~

Leave a Reply

