More Gifts

 

Why is it that when I am busy, I have a zillion things that I think I must write about…and when I am not busy, my mind is blank?  And yet I need to write, because when I don’t post, I don’t get comments, and I dearly love comments!  Some of the feedback I get is so inspiring, so beautifully written, that I think it deserves a much broader audience.  But I guess God gives the perfect words to the one who needs them…

I missed my Monday gratitude post again.  I just didn’t write down very many things this week.  So I guess I wasn’t very thankful?    Oh, well, I’ll jot down the few things I have.  And one of them was big enough that it deserves some extra space.

 

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

an incredibly huge orange spider with intricate designs on its back
homemade doughnuts
Amy Rose waving bye-bye
the warmth of a fire on a chilly evening
fresh whole wheat bread
dinner out with myhusband–endless shrimp…yum
a whole kitchen full of people making pizzas together
long naps
warm fresh applesauce
jars of fresh-canned pumpkin

and the higlight of my week:

dozens of people working together
to help a friend in need
young men cutting and splitting wood
showing off their muscles
an assembly line of girls and women carrying wood
loading it into the truck in the woods
then back to the house to stack it neatly
and a joyride in the back of the pickup out to the woods again
men putting on a steel roof
measuring and cutting and climbing and fitting and fastening
young boys digging a trench in hard clay soil
swinging picks and wielding shovels
all of the people eating together
chili and crackers and cookies and pie
from the back of a wagon bed
an inspiring day to remember
and a day that should be repeated
often. 



And now that life finally seems to be slowing down, perhaps I can catch up on some of the zillions of things that didn’t get written over the past few weeks.

Blessings on your day, my friend.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Gifts

  1. fwren says:

    The work day sounds like a wonderful place to have been ~ joy and blessings to you, dear friend ~

  2. Mandy says:

    Hey! I was in that Women/girl assembly line. You forgot the screaming during the joyride! 😉

  3. Your gratitude posts remind me to look for God’s hand in everything.Because He makes everything good.

Leave a Reply

