Gifts on the Back of a Napkin


I’ve been having trouble finding time to type up my gratitude journal.  Here’s what I’ve scribbled on a napkin lately.

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

bags of apples and piles of pumpkins set neatly by the road to sell
firewood stacked and ready for winter
a young face scarred with past troubles, now alight with the love of Christ
the stones of a barn foundation, set in place a century ago by a master craftsman
red, yellow, and green leaves, all on the same tree
a baby’s laugh
a field of pumpkins, windrowed into orange columns
jalapeño jelly on toast
a tunnel cut through the trees for power lines
the turrets of a “castle” hidden in the woods
sunlight sparkling on coppery hair
a barn with hay bales towering to the rafters
weeping willow trees bowing their faces to the ground, their skirts swaying gently in the breeze
root beer floats
yellow mums raising sunny faces to a gray and glowering sky
a long phone chat with probably my oldest and best friend ever
miniature horses
drinking apple cider that my son just pressed
the quiet friends who never make a splash, but are always there

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gifts on the Back of a Napkin

  1. fwren says:

    I gotta start doing this somewhere ~ I enjoy reading yours so much ~

  2. BooksForMe says:

    Such a beautiful picture of Fall.  

  3. ROBINEGGS says:

    I love your gratitude journal! 

  4. AngelAware says:

    I found myself telling my sister to try and focus on all the little things each day to be thankful for and that will help her get through each day and she can even compare with her hubby at the end of her day and this may help them get through there hard time right now. I am going to do this with my hubby….make it a little fun, at the end of our day we will have a couple things we saw that we are thankful for You really inspired me. so today…..again….You will be my number one…LOL  Ok do they really make Jalapeno jelly??…is it sweet?

  5. Hutch5 says:

    wonderful idea to keep a gratefulness journal!! I should have my kids do this.. and me too! ha~ 🙂

  6. homefire says:

    @AngelAware – They really do make jalapeno jelly!  I think it was Tabasco brand.  Someone gave a jar to dh, and I was very glad to let him have it–didn’t appeal to me at all.  He kept telling me how good it was, and finally I tried it.  It is WONDERFUL!  The jar was almost gone by the time I finally gave it a try, but I loved it!  I’m still not interested at breakfast time, but it’s a wonderful evening snack.    It’s sweet, but still hot–a very different, but quite yummy, taste!  So good I’m hoping to buy more.  And I love your idea of sharing your thankful thoughts with dh in the evening!  That’s a neat idea.

  7. homefire says:

    @Hutch5 – Hmmm.  I hadn’t thought of having my kids do it.  Not a bad idea!

  8. walkintrust says:

    Where are you?  I am missing your posts!  Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

