The Little Things

 

“Do you not fear Me?” declares the LORD.
“Do you not tremble in my presence?
For I have placed the sand as a boundary for the sea,
An eternal decree, so it cannot cross over it.
Though the waves toss, they cannot prevail;
Though they roar, yet they cannot cross over it.”
Jeremiah 5:22

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sit by the ocean and listen to the roar and crash of the waves.
If you’ve ever had the privilege of watching a storm come in over the ocean, you know what an awesome sight it is.
The waves are like living things, pounding their fury against the rocks and curling their fingers farther and farther inland.
Yet always they eventually return to the sea.
It’s an incredible display of the power of God.

Pick up a handful of sand and sift it through your fingers.
Look at those tiny grains, each one smaller than pinhead.
And think

Those minuscule pieces of rock
Those wee bits of our earth that are so loosely joined that they simply fall through your fingers
Are what our God uses to hold back those crashing waves, that thundering sea.

He uses those small insignificant things against a force that seems much larger
But in the hand of our GOD, the weak are made strong

Amazing, isn’t it?
What a beautiful hope!

And like the waves, we, too, will eventually return to the place God has prepared for us.

I’m returning, not departing.
My steps are homeward-bound
I quit the land of strangers
For a home on native ground.

I am rising, and not setting–
This is not night, but day;
Not in darkness, but in sunshine,
Like a star, I fade away.

All is well with me forever;
I do not fear to go;
My tide is but beginning
Its bright eternal flow.

I am leaving only shadows
For the true and fair and good:
I must not, cannot linger;
I would not if I could.

This is not death’s dark portal–
“Tis life’s golden gate to me.
Link after link is broken,
And I, at last, am free.

I am going to the angels,
I am going to my God;
I know the hand that beckons,
I see the heavenly road.

Why grieve me with your weeping?
Your tears are all in vain:
An hour’s farewell, beloved,
And we shall meet again.

Jesus, Thou wilt receive me,
And welcome me above;
This sunshine which now fills me
Is Thine own smile of love.
~Horatius Bonar

Leaving the shadows……entering the true reality and the amazing light.
An hour’s farewell…
I love that thought.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Little Things

  1. What a lovely thought. You shared it well. 

  2. I love knowing I am one heartbeat away from being with my Lord,and my son.I walk the beach as often as I can.God’s power is so evident there.

  3. BooksForMe says:

    Beautiful, beautiful post.  I love that thought, too, leaving the shadows.  @bronze_for_gold – I so agree about the ocean.

  4. mcbery says:

    A lovely post. Too often we look for big things when God is found in the little ones.

Leave a Reply

