Cheescake and Atonement

 

I woke up at 5:30 this morning with the realization that the last time I made cheesecake (months ago) my springform pan broke.  And here I was planning to make cheesecake today for my dinner guests tomorrow night.  Bah. 

And I had just gone to town yesterday and could have easily bought a new one, had I only remembered, but there’s not much chance of finding one locally.  Double Bah.

So I dozed back into a restless sleep, evaluating the possibility of serving cheesecake out of a pie pan, which sounds like a crumbly mess.

When I got up, I went straight to the cabinet and, lo and behold, there was my springform pan.  It even seems to work properly.  A miraculous resurrection!  Well, sort of.  I think I must have patched the mechanism together after it broke, though I had forgotten.  I will be treating it rather gently and hoping that it holds together one more time.

So today I want to make three or four pies, a cheesecake, chicken mushroom lasagnas, pumpkin muffins, and cut up a bunch of celery sticks.  Hopefully, that should take care of my food prep for the weekend.  I have guests who are bringing the rest of the food–what a treat!

““““““““““““““

This Sunday night begins Yom Kippur, Judaism’s most high holy day.  When I think of the solemnity of a Day of Atonement, a day when one needs to have everything set right, to reconcile all differences, and get right with God, I am so thankful that my Jesus was my atonement. 

Amazing love–how can it be
That Thou my God wouldst die for me?

My Messiah–the fulfillment of Yom Kippur.   Praise His Holy NAME~

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheescake and Atonement

  1. sunshine1939 says:

    Sounds like you have a very busy day!!!!  Food sounds yummy  We will be thinking about you this weekend.  God Bless.

  2. BooksForMe says:

    My springform pans are somewhere in storage.  I have a mini-springform pan, so I have thought of halving a recipe.  I haven’t made cheesecake much, but I’d like to master it.  And, i have a new recipe i am eager to try.  Happy cooking and baking today.  Are any of those going to be cherry pies? And, AMEN to Jesus being our atonement!  Bless His holy name!

  3. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe -Only one cherry pie.    And a Chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake.  drool…  The pan held together, but I’m just hoping I didn’t ruin it!  I let it cool in the oven, then later turned on the oven to preheat for the pies.      It still looks and smells okay, but I haven’t taken it out of the pan.  Praying…

  4. BooksForMe says:

    If this were Facebook, I’d poke you.  How’s it goin’ over there?  

Leave a Reply

