Gifts

 

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

chocolate chip cookies baking
Calvin’s snow sculptures
20 piecrusts rolled out and in the freezer
a (partially) weed-free perennial bed
the ringing of horseshoes as they hit the stake
fresh sheets
friends around a campfire
cuddling a sleepy baby
a treasure hunt for a birthday gift
freshly shaved parmesan cheese
the anticipation of seeing old friends
the satisfaction of cleaning things that are really dirty
glorious music
kittens tumbling over each other as they explore the world
plum salsa
a long nap on a Sunday afternoon

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gifts

  1. BooksForMe says:

    Sounds like it was a good weekend!  (Was the birthday party last night for you?)  I am so impressed that you have 20 pie crusts rolled out and in your freezer. What kind of fat do you use in your crusts?

  2. mcbery says:

    I have gifts too. I also like Sunday afternoon naps.

  3. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – I just use shortening.  (I think I commented to you that I pretty much know nothing about lard!  )  I usually make crusts in bulk, and I have a recipe that just uses a whole 3 lb can.  This is the first time I’ve actually rolled them all out, though.  Usually, I just freeze them as balls of dough and roll them out between two sheets of waxed paper when I thaw them.  The birthday party was Saturday night.

  4. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – LOL  It was still Sunday when I wrote that—still Sunday to me. 🙂 Had that whole Night Owl thing going on.  I remembered about the lard, but I didn’t remember if you were one who didn’t use shortening, either.  I’ve heard you can use oil.  I haven’t used lard since I wrote that.  I just have trouble getting over the whole rendered fat thing.  I dunno…

Leave a Reply

