Giving Thanks for ALL Gifts

 

 

One of the challenges of listing gifts is that occasionally things don’t go as you’d planned, and it’s a challenge to keep the grateful spirit.  Last night I had added quite a few things to my gift list, and before I posted it, I was trying to add a link, when suddenly my computer choked and I lost the post.  I was forced to remember the scripture about giving thanks “in all circumstances” which was brought home to me so forcefully when I read The Hiding Place.  Yes, it really does say that in the Bible.  We are to thank God ALL the time, no matter whether the circumstances seem favorable or not.

So, okay….Thank you, Lord, for a computer that eats my posts.  I don’t understand why AT ALL, but Corrie ten Boom didn’t understand why she should be thankful for fleas either, and they did turn out to be a blessing.  So here goes.  I shall try to reconstruct, and perhaps this time I will remember something more…something that God didn’t want me to forget.  Who knows?

“““““`

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.
(usually )

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

a train whistle in the distance
the intricacy and amazing engineering of a spider’s web
a soothing backrub for aching muscles
appliances that wash and dry my clothes with little effort from me
vehicles that keep going, even when they’re old
dark chocolate
the mantel clock ticking its comfortable rhythm in a silent room
remembering the beloved grandmother who gave me the clock
the joy of discovering new friends
the relaxing ease of old ones
a weekend full of the vivacity of young people
cold mornings and hot chocolate
waves gently lapping the sand
the sound of the ferry blowing its horn

singing Crossing the Bar while watching the sun sink into the lake
homemade ice cream churned in a plastic bag
watching kids make silly videos
the strength to climb and descend 168 steps…several times a day!
surgeons with the expertise to fix knees so that I am not crippled
worshipping in a chapel designed by God himself
the smell of campfire smoke

“““““`

Thank you, Lord, for a beautiful weekend.
I pray that it blessed others as much as it blessed me!


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving Thanks for ALL Gifts

  1. Thank you for this!  It struck a chord with me this morning.Beautifully written.

  2. homefire says:

    @bronze_for_gold – Thank you!  So glad you visited~

Leave a Reply

