So Today We Started School

 

I confess that I hadn’t really been looking forward to it very much, but I had forgotten that a sense of humor makes everything immensely better. 

One of the things that I thought might be unpopular was our new creative writing endeavor, so we started off ve-e-ery gradually.  It began today with the instruction to write just one excellent sentence

I showed them this picture, and asked each one to write a sentence about it. 

 

wagonsunset

Two of them turned in nice sentences that talked about the plodding horse and the fiery sky.

Then my 14 year old son, a very reluctant writer, turned in his sentence.  It read:

And then he shot the horse.

 

Well, what would you do?

I laughed, of course.  In fact, I chuckled about it off and on for the rest of the day.  He is so incredibly offbeat and it usually catches me completely off guard.

Yes, I made him re-do the sentence, and he did an excellent sentence the second time.  But I have to be grateful to him for a good laugh when I needed it.  Teaching some kids is just an adventure.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So Today We Started School

  1. mr_randyc says:

    I thought that it was a very good sentence. His imagination is great.

  2. I agree with mr randyc, hilarious creativity!

  3. homefire says:

    @mr_randyc – @stampingranny – Yeah, quite honestly, I think he may have a future in writing children’s books.  His quirky sense of humor is amazing.

  4. I have one of those, too. He is taking my online AP Language and Composition class. For his bio, he was supposed to write 300 words about himself. He wrote, “My name is David Sellers. All your base are belong to us.”  I howled! (and made him redo it)For a discussion question this week on the appropriateness of sentence fragments:To me a sentence shouldn’t be limited to only the best. All sentencesshould have an opportunity to make their point. While fragments(consider reversing) probably should not be used in essays andimportant legal documents, they should have free rein of the streets inmore general and urban writing.  While she may not have noticed it,Mrs. Sellers used a fragment in the discussion question, ‘In casualwriting?’ She could have combined the two sentences, ‘Are…’ and ‘In…’,but instead decided to make them two different questions for us tothink about, instead of mushing them together as one.  Inessence these so call fragments are really just misunderstood dwarfsentences, and deserve full rights to roam and be free in ourparagraphs and papers. To love. To live. To be a dwarf.And another one asking students to compare British and American systems of punctuation: Seeing as I can only find a few minor differences, i.e. the period(or full stop) after titles, Mr vs. Mr., the use of single vs. doublequotation marks, and the period inside or outside the quotation marks Ihave come to this conclusion. Nobody should care.

  5. All 4 of Homefire’s kids are amazing! I really need to catch up with you, girl! They are all growing up fast.

  6. homefire says:

    @stampingranny – Yep, they sure are…It’s hard to believe how fist time flies, isn’t it?@TeacherPerson – I LOVE the bit on “dwarf sentences!”    I am big supporter of sentence fragments.  I believe that, used carefully, they can greatly strengthen writing.  Besides, I just like to use them..so there!    And “Nobody should care.”  LOL!  I can certainly see his point.But you’re going to have to explain “All your base are belong to us”  I don’t get it.  ???

Leave a Reply

