Choke on a Gnat, Swallow a Camel?

 

I just read an article  that was interesting.  It seems that Obama is planning a special address to school kids on Tuesday, which in these parts will be the first day of school.  And a lot of parents are upset.

I find it ironic that people who send their children off to be taught by total strangers five days a week, plus who knows how many after- and before-school hours, are having a fit about the president possibly indoctrinating their children.

I understand their fears–who hasn’t heard the hype about capturing the youth in order to change a nation?  But if you willingly allow members of the National Education Association to have free access to your children on a regular basis, why be so concerned about one little speech from the president?  I mean, I’m glad that something is finally getting the parents’ attention and making them wonder what their children are being fed, but it’s just interesting to me…

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choke on a Gnat, Swallow a Camel?

  1. mcbery says:

    I think parents should always be involved. Having teachers indoctrinate children with no direction from parents is a huge mistake. My uncle was a teacher for 39 years and I know what they believe in! I love my uncle but I DO NOT AGREE WITH HIS WORLD VIEW. Actually, since his aneurysm he seems a lot more loving than he used to be. We’ve been praying for him for years and I’m so glad he’s still with us. I don’t think he converted to Conservative but maybe there’s some hope now.

  2. homefire says:

    @mcbery –  Well, hey, there are more important things than being conservative!    It really is odd to me, though, when parents don’t even know their children’s teachers, and that happens a lot.  WHY would you trust your children to spend hours a day with a person whose beliefs may be completely opposed to yours?  I had an experience as a teenager that I will never forget, and I think it completely changed my view of the whole child-rearing scene.  My mother made a casual reference one day to abortion and how awful it was, and I said, “Why?  It’s your body?”  My sister agreed with me, and we stared at her, wondering why she was looking so weird.After she picked up her jaw from the floor, my mom proceeded to explain to us exactly what abortion was and why she had a problem with it.  I don’t remember any more of the conversation (though I’m afraid I may have argued with her a bit) but it certainly made me think.  It just happened that the subject had never come up in our home, and somehow both of us girls had absorbed the idea that abortion was just fine.  I don’t remember any particular person who told me so, but I do know that the idea was implanted firmly enough that I had been totally surprised to find that Mom disagreed.  I simply had never considered another side to the issue.  This was probably not too long after abortion was legalized, and I’m guessing that our parents had never discussed it simply because they wanted to protect us from the ugliness of the world.  Obviously, that plan didn’t work.I guess my point is that it IS scary how very easily our children can pick up and accept without question ideas that are abhorrent to us, so I sympathize with the parents who are protesting this speech.  But I don’t see why many of those same parents are allowing total strangers to teach their children all about life.

Leave a Reply

