Gifts of the Week

 

 

I’m starting my gift list.
Not exactly for Christmas, but because of Christ.
Have you ever considered how many gifts you receive each and every day?
How many times do you stop
and thank the Creator of all that’s good
for the incredible variety of blessing He provides?

While browsing a blog that I hadn’t visited for a long time
which has been a source of rest and inspiration
 many times over the years,
I discovered that she has started a
Gratitude_Community 

What a glorious way to keep myself focused on
what is Truly Important.
And so I begin
my list of gifts.

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

the wake-up aroma of grapefruit
the tottering steps of a one-year old who stretches her hands to be lifted up
fresh blueberries by the handful
the instant, incandescent joy of a baby’s smile
the smell of wind and sunshine in a basket of clean laundry
lying on my back in the sand while shooting stars blaze the majesty of God
the unexpected hug from my teenaged son
fresh peaches…juicy sunshine running down my chin
the swishing cadence of rain
a dog that does a happy dance just because his people came home
four part harmony
laughing until my sides hurt
a visit from a loved one
white-capped waves
holding a friend’s newborn baby
fresh bread baking

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Those were the things that made the list this week.
I hope to make this a habit.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gifts of the Week

  1. Neeka1 says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww ~ that was just lovely!  We are so blessed.

  2. mom1945 says:

    That was beautiful! Thanks for the reminder of how blessed we are and how important it is to count our many blessings, name them one by one and it will surprise us what the Lord has done…

  3. AngelAware says:

    This is really awesome!! I want to make a habbit of this also. I love how you put all your gifts into words You make them sound like poetry Just last night I layed down in my bed and as I was pulling the covers over me, my husband was smileing at me as he was close the bathroom door, I felt such greatfulness to God for such a wonderful husband who is so sweet to me and such a comfortable bed to sleep in

  4. homefire says:

    @AngelAware – Glad it spoke to you.  I have found it a real blessing this week.  As I chose something and found words to write it down, it made me think about it and appreciate it even more. 

  5. That is a nice site. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

