So It Doesn’t Affect Me…

 

Warning:  if you are completely uninterested in grammar and the use of language, you will probably find this post exceedingly dull.  Take my advice and skip it.

I was just reading a book (I won’t tell you what book, because I don’t want to cast any aspersions.  It is actually an excellent book) where this phrase appeared:  “to affect profound change.”

Is anyone else totally driven bonkers by the constant use/misuse of effect and affect?

I remember about thirty years ago, my English teacher tried to explain the usage of these two words and managed to get herself completely confused in the process.  So I could understand it perfectly if some of my classmates are a little shaky on this, but I do find it disturbing that even book editors don’t seem to have a clue. 

Of course, I do think it was easier 30 years ago.  At that time, I rarely heard “effect” used as a verb, so it was usually a choice between “That affects me,” or “I am suffering the effects of that.”  In general, you were fairly safe to use the a-word for verbs and the e-word as a noun.  Pretty simple, if you knew the basic parts of speech.

Since then, the media has brought Effect into common usage as a verb, so now people try to use it that way, and that’s where it gets sticky.

In case you’re interested in knowing which one to use, here’s a quick lesson. 

1.  If you’re using it as a noun (if it has “the” or “a/an” in front of it) it will ALWAYS be the e-word.  For example:  The effect of television on children has been found to be decidedly negative.  The special effects in that movie are incredible.

2.  If the word is a verb, then you try to substitute other words.  If you can substitute “make a difference to” or “to influence” for your word, then use the a-word.  Example:  It can affect the development of the growing brain.  In fact, it affects all of us. 

3.  If that substitute doesn’t work, try “bring about” as in “make happen.”  If that makes sense, then the word you’re looking for is EFFECT.  This is the one that I think has become much more common is recent years.  It usually will refer to change of some sort (which may be why we hear it so much more lately.) 
Example:  In order to effect an improvement in family relationships, it may be a good idea to limit exposure to TV in ourselves as well as our children.   Or the example at the beginning of this post, which should have read “to effect profound change…”

The thing that bothers me about editors not catching these errors in books is that some people (me, for instance) learn mainly by example.  I only knew how to use these words because I have always been a voracious reader, and I saw them used properly.  We sort of absorb the proper usage, rather than actually being taught classroom-style.  If we have a lot of books where they are not used properly, how can we ever HOPE for our children to learn? 

There.  Now I’ve gotten it off my chest.  If you actually read this and cared, I hope you’ll comment.  Just so I know that I am not the only one… 

Random fact:  Did you know that today is the 400th anniversary of Galileo’s telescope?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to So It Doesn’t Affect Me…

  1. deyoderized says:

    Grammar is important to me and I’m often bugged by the incorrect usage of different words. (i.e. your vs. you’re)  However this was a lesson I appreciated, because I’ve not always been sure which is correct. The funny thing is that I can usually pick it out if it’s in print and used incorrectly, tho.  It just doesn’t look right!

  2. walkintrust says:

    Thank you.  I’ve had more opportunities lately to write and I find myself often pausing to decide between the “a” and the “e”.  I think I’ll print off your hints and tape them to the back of my English notebook.  Blessings.  One of these days I’ll actually write to you!

  3. homefire says:

    @deyoderized – @walkintrust – It’s nice to know that someone actually cares!  @walkintrust – Promise?    Hey, better yet, come see me! 

  4. I was profoundly affected by this post.  Thank you.  

  5. Affect and effect are the two words which still consistently baffle me. I’ve read explanation after explanation, but there are still instances when I am not sure. I think yours is the best one I’ve read in regard to picking the right one for the verb choice. Really!

  6. homefire says:

    @davidpendleton –   ProfoundlyReally?  You need to get a life!  @TeacherPerson – Why, thank you!  Maybe I should moonlight writing grammar texts? 

  7. BooksForMe says:

    I love it!  Very well explained, and I need reminding.  

  8. I came by way of recommendation and am glad I did.  It is good to keep your mind sharp with the proper use of words.  Although I know I slip up now and then, I appreciate those who do write and speak well.

  9. …. write and speak good?  see… there ya go.

  10. homefire says:

    @bronze_for_gold – LOL!  Cute.  You could have left it alone–you were right the first time.  But thanks for the chuckle.Btw, well is an adverb, describing action.  Good is an adjective, describing a noun.    In case anyone didn’t know.

Leave a Reply

