News Fast

 

~~~News FAST~~~

No, not as in getting news quickly, but in the sense of going without.  I’m planning to do an experiment this week.  I have decided that news and politics are distracting me from what is really important in my life right now.  So I’m planning to watch/listen to/read NO news this week (at least not on purpose) and see if I can keep my mind focused more where it should be.  I have struggled with clutter in my house over the years, but this is the first time I have really done serious battle with the clutter in my mind.  In the spirit of Philippians 4:8, I’m hoping to sweep out not only the malicious and sinful, but also the extraneous and discouraging.  When I think about it, current news just really doesn’t fit at all into this list.

Finally, brethren,
whatsoever things are true,
whatsoever things are honest,
whatsoever things are just,
whatsoever things are pure,
whatsoever things are lovely,
whatsoever things are of good report;
if there be any virtue,
and if there be any praise,
think on these things. 
Philippians 4:8

And yes, that will mean that I won’t read a lot of my subscriptions on xanga.  In fact, I may not read any of them…I’ll just see how it goes.  This could be difficult, so I’ll have to approach it cautiously, knowing my record of falling into the black hole of cyberspace.

I may post if I have any swelling thoughts that spill over and need to be expressed, but I’m planning to do some serious curtailing of my (and my children’s) Internet time. 

If you care to pray for me, that would be wonderful.  Have a great week, everyone!

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to News Fast

  1. proudmom87 says:

    Blessings to you while you do this! Praise God! I wish my husband would do it. He watches the news constantly….

  2. Sometimes I feel like my whole life is a news fast!  I think this is a wise plan. It is always good to fast from what might be distracting us. May this time draw you close to the Lord!

  3. Hutch5 says:

    i admire what you’re doing… i think it’s good when we sense something becoming too strong in our lives to have the courage to walk away for awhile. you inspire me. wishing you a happy news-less week!! 🙂

  4. Good for you……I’ve been having very similar thoughts. 

  5. Biblerapture says:

    Great post! This really speaks to me. I have done what you are doing myself. Sometimes we just need to get away from the clutter (world) in our lives and see what God says to us. This is the 2nd time this week this scripture has crossed my eyes, so I better start taking it to heart.Our minds are the root of most distractions to our walk with Christ.

  6. Good for you!! Good for your children..good for God. Every minute on the computer is replacing somthing we would have done instead.

  7. homefire says:

    @proudmom87 – @TeacherPerson – @Hutch5 – @The_Ragged_Edge – @Biblerapture – @Sunriselearner – @BooksForMe – I want to thank you all for the encouragement!  This was a surprising experince for me.  I was amazed that it wasn’t particularly hard (PTL!) and I was also pleased with how much more peaceful I felt overall.  For some reason, it’s easy for me to become too wrapped up in the things that I cannot change, and this was good to have a time to get life back into perspective.  Though I did start reading news again when the week was over, I’ve been much less compulsive since then, so I’m thankful for that.  Perhaps this is something I will need to do occasionally, just as sort of a detox.   

Leave a Reply

