Do You Tip Your Bagger?

 

Just a snapshot from my day that I keep thinking about…

I went to the local grocery store to buy some bread for supper at the last minute this evening, so I was standing in line behind about eight other six o’clock shoppers, most of whom were tourists.  The woman in front of me was chatting with the cashier as she swiped her card, and I noticed she had a bill folded up in her hand.  A moment later, she looked around with a puzzled air saying,”Where’s the cup?”  We all gave her rather confused glances, so she elaborated, “You know, the bowl for the bagger’s tip.”  The cashier explained that they don’t get that here–they’re just doing the job they’re paid for.  She was obviously befuddled and amazed at such a thing.

Now tell me, do you tip your bagger?  Is this a common practice in a lot of places?  I honestly have never heard of it, never once even considered it!  I have tipped someone for helping me carry my groceries to the car and load them, but never, ever a bagger.

I’m just wondering.  Is this a normal practice to you?  And if so, where do you live?  I’ve never lived anywhere but the midwest, so I’m curious.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do You Tip Your Bagger?

  1. BooksForMe says:

    I have tipped for help carrying groceries and loading them in my car.  I do not tip for bagging.  I have not needed help putting groceries in the car for a long time, though.  I can’t recall the last time.  I have tipped on both Coasts.  

  2. fwren says:

    No tipping for baggers here ~

  3. suzsea says:

    I have not ever tipped for bagging but have for carrying things to my car.  I am in Southeastern PA.If I were a bagger..I would like this practice. Did the woman say where she was from?

  4. mamaglop says:

    I have never tipped for either bagging or carrying.  I don’t think people expect it here.  I worked as a motel maid for a while in college, and once I went to the owner with some coins that the customers had left behind.  She informed me that was my tip. 

  5. homefire says:

    @suzsea – No, I don’t know where she was from, but she didn’t have a southern accent or any other twang that was obvious, and I heard her talk for quite awhile to the little girls who were with her.

Leave a Reply

