I Will Not Deny…

 

Peter said to Him, “Even if I have to die with You, I will not deny You.”   Matthew 26:35

 

Well, we all know what happened to Peter a few hours later.  He not only denied Jesus, he did it repeatedly.  He swore that he didn’t know him.

I believe Peter was perfectly sincere when he made this statement of his loyalty, so what in the world made such a huge difference a few hours later? 

Think about a soldier’s devotion to his cause.  If he believes without a doubt that what he is fighting for is worthwhile, he will fight to the death.  And I believe Peter was ready to do exactly that.  He would have been glad to go out in a blaze of glory fighting for the cause of his King. 

But he wasn’t willing to endure shame and humiliation and mockery for Him.

Do we have that same mindset?  We tend think in terms of “causes” to support, of plans of attack that will “bring America back to Christ.”  We want to speak out boldly for Jesus, to reach the lost, to spread the good news.  We picture ourselves in a battle against evil, like in Lord of the Rings, and we see the glories of fighting for our Lord. 

But have you ever considered that you might instead be asked to be humbled for Him?  Is there a chance that instead of a entering a glorious battle that we might simply be shunned and mocked?  Maybe it won’t look like much of a battle to the untrained eye, but just an embarrassing ordeal that seems to have no point.

Are we ready for THAT, Christian brother and sister?  Are we?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Will Not Deny…

  1. Yes indeed, been there many a time.  : )

  2. lookin4Jesus says:

    So much of life is not glamorous; duty gets old, tiring, and yes humbling. Our pride gets abased as we aren’t appreciated or are misunderstood ~ the list goes on. I have thought that one of Peter’s problems was his self confidence. He wasn’t relying on God to keep him strong but thought he could do it himself. When we get to the place that we realize we are nothing without Him, then He can use us.

  3. mamaglop says:

    Good post, and very timely for me.  I am back in college.  Interestingly, I got called out on my conservative beliefs in class just this week.  I knew I wasn’t the only one, but I was the only one who raised a hand to the profs question.  It was scary. You don’t need to tell me it is scary as a battle.  I don’t necessarily agree that Peter couldn’t face the humilation.  We haven’t been raised in a place where the public agony of crucifixion has been something we’ve witnessed from time to time.Thank God we haven’t had to.

  4. homefire says:

    @mamaglop – hmmm.  Good point.  I really never thought that he knew yet that Jesus would be crucified, but maybe he did.  Good for you to stand for your belief.  It does sound scary.  (hugs)

  5. I fear I’m often like Peter, seeing & reacting with my feelings now instead of opening spiritual eyes of understanding.

  6. BooksForMe says:

    Amen!  I don’t like it, but I KNOW it is true.  Oh, I know it first hand.  And, I don’t like it!  However, it is a part of this walk of faith, and this walk of victory.  Amen!

Leave a Reply

