So Do Mammograms CAUSE Breast Cancer?

 

I’ve been researching mammograms since I’m due for one soon.    I just read an article that really made me think.

The start of screening mammography programs throughout Europe has been associated with increased incidence of breast cancer.

This raises some obvious and worrisome questions: Did the x-rays and/or the sometimes torturous compression of breasts during mammography actually spur cancer to develop? Or does this just look like an increase in the disease rate because mammography is simply identifying more cases of breast cancer? 

They went on to say that test results show that it doesn’t look as if they’re just finding more–there actually ARE more. 

According to a several sources I read, women who are regularly screened for cancer through mammography are around 22%-25% more likely to get cancer!  Now that’s a statistic I don’t like at ALL.

What do you think? 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So Do Mammograms CAUSE Breast Cancer?

  1. fwren says:

    I have refused for years to get mammograms for this very reason ~ it has been very hard to convince my doctor that my concerns about this have any basis, but I have always been reluctant to have them shoot x-rays into my body needlessly, especially in the same area, year after year!  I keep asking the doctor:  “How do they know that the x-rays aren’t causing the cancer???  They do not have any answer, except that the dosage is very low.  So what??  I do not allow my dentist to take x-rays of my teeth very often either. 

  2. I agree with you, have for years. BUT.. a Dr. I respect very much tells me he has only found one breast cancer during a physical exam in all his years of practice. All the rest have been found by the patient (usually in later stages) or by mammogram. So what is one to do? I know ppl who tell everyone…get your mammograms! They found their cancer so early it was no big deal to treat.

  3. Anonymous says:

    my mom has one coming up soon….sighs..

  4. BooksForMe says:

    This is very interesting.  Thanks for posting it.  My doctor does not like when I object to anything she tells me to do, but this is definitely one thing I think I’ll refuse.

  5. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Yeah, I’m considering it, too.  I have absolutely no family history of cancer, and I just wonder if it wouldn’t be better to forego it.

Leave a Reply

