The Ideological Burqa

 

Ann Coulter, who I rather enjoy reading, had an interesting article here about liberals and women.  One quote that really intrigued me was this one.

From Katie Couric on CBS to Norah O’Donnell on MSNBC, the whole stable of TV anchorettes weirdly have the exact same politics as their liberal masters. It’s the ideological burqa women are required to wear to work in the mainstream media. As with a conventional burqa, it enforces conformity and severely restricts the vision.

Hmmm, what do you think?  Is this media bias equivalent to a burqa? 

Is there something that is a burqa in your life?  Something that forces you into a mold and limits your vision?  I thought this was an interesting idea–I’d never really thought of the burqa symbolically before.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Ideological Burqa

  1. fwren says:

    hmmm ~ very interesting.  I can sure see how a media person would not keep their job long if they were to voice their “own” views ~ and yes, their vision is severely limited, but hadn’t thought of ones’ own circumstances as being a type of burqa ~ and as I do think about it ~ yep, I think I can/could identify ~ 😉

  2. homefire says:

    @fwren – I thought you might 

  3. Symbolically?  I think I may have some problem identifying what may be biggest “burga” in my life right now.  Right off the bat, I thought of this but hesiates saying it because it is kinda the opposite.  Molds people automatically tries to fit me into due to my certain handicap.  I fight to break these molds.  It is not easy at all!  I try to live and abide in God’s will.  Huh….. isn’t living for Christ a type of “burga”?  The best one ever out there to wear!

Leave a Reply

