Punny

 

Why can a man never starve in the Great Desert? Because he can eat the sand which is there. But what brought the sandwiches there? Why, Noah sent Ham, and his descendants mustered and bred.

~Richard Whately, Archbishop of Dublin

 

Even though it still makes me groan, I can’t help but be fascinated by a mind that can wrap itself around multiple meanings of words like this. 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Punny

  1. SpazzyMommy says:

    *LOL* I had to read it twice to get the full meaning. 🙂

  2. SpazzyMommy says:

    Ha. Now I get the title too. Maybe I should get more coffee- my poor brain is having a hard time waking up!

  3. fwren says:

    LOL and groaning with you ~ I happen to like this kind of thing ~

  4. bafocus_2 says:

    Is there dessert in that thar desert?

  5. Excellent! Excellent!

Leave a Reply

