God is a Crutch

Another devotional from Jason Mitchener that impressed me.

      Don’t Let Go
But cleave unto the Lord your God, as ye have done unto this day.
Joshua 23:8

Before I started using a wheelchair when I was fifteen, I walked on crutches from the age of three. Since I was dependent on my crutches to walk, they basically became an extension to my body. I felt uncomfortable anytime my crutches were not in easy reach.

One day in kindergarten, my class took a field trip to the Phoenix Zoo. I thoroughly enjoyed myself until I encountered a certain baby goat in the children’s petting zoo. I would have enjoyed the baby goat, too, if he hadn’t gotten his horns stuck in one of my crutches and run off with it. Thankfully, he didn’t take both crutches or I would have fallen on my face.

Many times I’ve heard people say, “Christians just use God as a crutch.” Is there really something wrong with that? One of the great things about a crutch is it keeps you from falling. As long as you hold tight to the crutch, it will keep you balanced and enable you to walk steadily. It’s when you let go of the crutch that you fall on your face.

We need to hold tight to God. The world around is such a shaky, uncertain place. We need something to grab hold of so we don’t lose our balance. Thankfully, we have God to hold on to during the roughest trials. As long as we hold fast to Him, He will keep us from falling.

When trials are not coming our way, we may have the temptation to think we can make it on our own. If we’re not holding on to God, the next trial that comes will knock us on our face.

God may be a crutch, but don’t ever let go of that crutch.

(If this devotional has blessed you, please pass it on.)

From a fellow traveler just passing through,

Jason Mitchener
http://www.JasonMitchener.com

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God is a Crutch

  1. Anonymous says:

    Amen!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    THAT was SO impressive, because it comes from the heart of one who truly knows what he is talking about. Thank you so much for sharing.  I can tell you, I’m hanging on to my crutch for all I’m worth, while we wait on HIM to supply our needs as Dan struggles without work. Sigh. It should be easy….it’s not.

  3. homefire says:

    @viewinghuijia – Believe me, I know!  No work is a very challenging thing.  (hugs!)  But God IS good…ALL the time.  It’s our vision that is so limited.

Leave a Reply

