To Sell or Not to Sell?

We’re supposed to show the house again this afternoon and I’m having mixed feelings.  It’s been on the market for about a year, and we had one–yes only one–showing, sometime last fall.  Now they’ve scheduled three in two weeks’ time.  The trouble is, the first one canceled after we had spent most of Friday (before going away for the weekend, when we really didn’t have time!)  trying to get everything perfect.  The second showing, we spent a couple of hours cleaning again.  They arrived a half hour early, while I was still here, and spent less than 5 minutes looking at the house.  I get the feeling that they’re trying to drag anyone and everyone through here, just so that we think it was worthwhile to renew the contract.

So today…I’m not much in the mood to start tucking everything away so that it looks bare and spacious and cleaning every nook and cranny.  It just doesn’t seem worthwhile, know what I mean?  Before, we’ve always taken out the stacks of boxes that hide in our corners so that they don’t think we lack storage space.  I’m not sure I have the energy today…

I’m starting to think that I really don’t care much whether it sells anyway.  I suppose I ought to sweep the floors, though.  Sigh.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to To Sell or Not to Sell?

  1. fwren says:

    Well, if you sell, then you can build places to store the boxes!  I hope it does sell for you, but like you said, it sounds a bit like they are trying to impress you.  You know it will sell in God’s timing despite your boxes ~

  2. I’ve read that houses sell better if it is not perfectly squeaky clean.  Lived-in look but clean enough.  I read about of how one realtor in England make sure there’s at least one room look like a very messy teenage’s room, complete with realstic fake food here and there.  This realtor sells more homes than others.

  3. SpazzyMommy says:

    Bless your heart. I know that must be terribly stressful. 😦

  4. BooksForMe says:

    Is there a need to sell?  Is there anywhere to permanently store the boxes, so they don’t have to keep being moved?  It doesn’t really sound like you’re into this right now.  I say, let the boxes stay.  They can just think you’re packing. 🙂

  5. Sweep the floor, wash the dishes….swipe the bathroom….call it good.  We looked at a house with our parents last weekend…the guy had boxes and stuff stacked in LOTS of rooms…..the house was basically clean and solid..that was what we cared about…….we were looking at the potential of the house, not whether or not there were boxes stacked around……any potential buyer can figure that out!  They will either like it or not…boxes or not. He also had a stack of lumber from some fix-it project out front..the realtor about died….but guess what…my parents are making an offer…It’s the house..not a box or two they are interested in.  We sold our house ourselves…went fine…saved tons of money.

  6. homefire says:

    @The_Ragged_Edge – That’s what really irks me about this whole thing.  We only renewed the contract because they had someone interested.  Supposedly, the people who saw it last fall were coming back, but then they canceled after we’d signed.  I don’t like to suspect our realtors of skulduggery, but I was REALLY ticked about that, because we probably wouldn’t have renewed our contract that had actually been dormant all winter if we’d known.  We had thought we’d probably try to sell it ourselves.  Now I suppose we’re stuck.  Bah.@OverACupOfTea – That is really interesting!  I am definitely going to think about that!  I can kind of see the appeal, actually.  We always want to see ourselves in a house, and that might be easier if it doesn’t look like a magazine.  Not that there’s any chance of that with mine, anyway…  @BooksForMe – That’s what I decided.  And no, it’s not exactly critical that we sell, obviously, or I’d probably have a better attitude.  We would like to move, and it might be cheaper to live elsewhere, but it’s not necessary.@SpazzyMommy – Thanks for the encouragement.  I probably make too big of a deal about it.@fwren – Yeah, I keep telling myself that.    He IS in control~

  7. Oh yes, I just now remembered something else….    bake a pie!  If not pie, something “good” such as bread, cake, cookie.   The house then will smell like a “bakery”.  Think physiology thing.  A nudge in buyer’s mind to just buy it.  I also read that elsewhere more than once.I’m sorry we’re not in market for moving to Michigan.  No job there for my dearest.  No plans to retire in next 20 years.

  8. One showing? Wow. You must live in a slow market. That must be such a discouragement.  Sometimes when we try the least, we get the best results.  (But sometimes not!)

  9. homefire says:

    @OverACupOfTea – Yeah, I had thought of starting some bread, but didn’t get around to it.  Like I said, yesterday I didn’t really care.  @TeacherPerson – Yeah, Michigan is dead.  No one is building anything, no real estate is moving.  We are just mightily grateful that dh has work, at least for now.

  10. AngelAware says:

    Oh gosh Im sorry. I dont blame you for doubting the honesty of the realtors. There are *alot* of houses for sale here. sheeesh….I wonder if they should get a second job! Are you moving out of town or just to another house?Thank you for your prayers….thank you very much

  11. homefire says:

    @AngelAware – IF we move, we won’t be moving far, probably.  We’d like to get out of the village, mainly, and into the country.

  12. Anonymous says:

    Sigh…we may HAVE to sell. We may not be able to make the next payment, and if we do, it may be the next after that. It’s so scary.This house was purchased in ’98 for $150,000 and could have sold at it’s highest for $465,000…and now we probably are back to the purchase price…we’ve made lots of improvements, but never got the roof redone and now it leaks…the bathroom floors were in very serious problem, so we tore them up recently and they have aired out for over a month…hope we can afford to replace the particle board and vinyl before company comes next month.THESE ARE HARD TIMES. You’re not alone and possibly better off than some. Keep pressing on. Use the ‘crutch’ of faith, for I am, tho I’ve lost both a few times recently.Sigh…

  13. homefire says:

    Yeah, it’s hard.  I am so sorry that you are in such a fix.  I guess you could move to Michigan–houses are really cheap here!  Of course, there’s no work, either…  :-/

Leave a Reply

