What Do You Think of This Idea?

 

I have gotten frustrated with my overflowing xanga inbox.  Does anyone else have a home page that is so full that they can’t find the blog subscriptions that are most important to them?  If so, go check out my IDEA and vote for it if you think it’s a good one!

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What Do You Think of This Idea?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I voted.  Several have put forth this idea and i think it’s GREAT.  I wish Xanga would listen!!

  2. I’ve wanted this for a long time! They mentioned something about automatic emails when certain people update, but I don’t get any subscription updates (grrr…long time trying to fix that), so that wouldn’t work well for me. 

  3. And something I just did–I unsubscribed and unfriended a number of frequent updaters.  They cluttered my inbox, and I didn’t read the blogs too often. Every time I get on now, people I actually read and want to read are waiting at the top of the list. So, there’s an option for you, too. .

  4. homefire says:

    @TeacherPerson – Ah, you are so ruthless.  I’ve tried, but didn’t manage to get rid of too many.  Sigh.  It’s sort of like the clutter in my house…

  5. SkyL1ght says:

    YES! I agree! I actually end up deleating subs that I don’t like as much so that they don’t crowd out the ones I love. I think I have already voted, though πŸ˜‰

  6. YouToMe says:

    i voted for this too b/c that’s one of my biggest problems. i’ve deleted some friends…which i hate to do..but i’m just getting too much feed to be able to propertly focus on the people i want.

  7. BooksForMe says:

    This may not work for you, but what I did to address this problem was (1) make sure I was Friends with everyone I was interested in at all, and (2) only sub to those must-read bloggers.  That did mean I had to unsubscribe to several, but most folks don’t notice when you unsub them, so there are no hurt feelings.  This system has been awesome for me, because on my home page I can click on “Friends” and see everyone’s blog, whenever I have time.  When I don’t have I time, I just click onto the subscriptions page.  My Friends used to be the small number, now they out number subs almost 2-to-1.  It has made Xanga a happier place for me.  And, another plus, on the home page they only have ten pages max of history, so it protects me from my tendency to obsess over needing to see everything I missed.  

  8. Anonymous says:

    Perfect Voted for it myself πŸ™‚

  9. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – I just saw this.  I guess my idea won’t work for you.  Maybe, the real problem is in how you assign value to people, things, and time.  LOL  May I ask: How many people do you have as Friends and Subs?  If you prefer not to divulge that info, that’s cool.  Just curious what you’re dealing with right now.

  10. Hutch5 says:

    i like it. πŸ™‚

  11. BooksForMe says:

    Do you ever use the “Subscriptions” tab, on the upper left side of your home page, to read all your subs? 

  12. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – I don’t like having to scroll through all the long posts that people write–some of my subs are longwinded.  I like the home page first-line approach, so that I can skim quickly and see which ones I want to take time to read.  BUT I just discovered that at the top of the home page list are tabs that will let me get first lines of only subs, only friends, or only recs, which is hugely helpful.  Now that I know I can switch back and forth easily between subs and friends, I can unsub from more without too many pangs.  This actually does pretty much what I asked for, but I just never knew it was there.  I guess they need a “How To Use Your Home Page” tutorial for dummies like me! 

  13. mom1945 says:

    I like the idea and voted for it. I have a couple on my list who post many message each day of stuff Im not interestred in. I’ve tried to “defriend – unsub” take them off my list, but for what ever reason it isn’t happening. They’re still there. I’d like to know how to “get rid of” certain folks?

  14. fwren says:

    I just always click on “Your Subscriptions” and read my updates that way ~ guess this doesn’t apply to me ~

  15. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – Well, you’d have to include me in that, because I only recently discovered I could do that, too!  What else are we missing? LOL   I was very excited to find those tabs options.  Definitely saved me time here.

Leave a Reply

