Do Unto Others

 

We are bound to be just and right towards all men as men, whatever their religious convictions, or irreligious notions.  Injustice is no friend to truth.  We must not fight God’s battles with the weapons of ill-will.  For us to hate those who are in error, or talk of them with contempt or wish them ill, or do them wrong, is not  according to the Spirit of Christ.  You cannot cast out Satan by Satan, nor correct error by violence, nor overcome hate by hate.

                                           ~Charles Spurgeon

 

I am feeling just a wee bit stressed.  Not only do we have a retreat we are helping to organize this weekend, but the realtor called last night and wants to show our house Saturday morning.  We have to be gone this evening and then set out for the weekend tomorrow afternoon, leaving two teenaged boys in charge of the house.  Well, actually four, since a couple of their friends are staying here, too.  And the house is supposed to be spiffy and ready to show by 10:00 Saturday morning? 

So I have today and most of tomorow to finalize retreat details, make sure food is ready for Sunday, clean like a whirlwind and eliminate excess stuff to make the house seem spacious, and lecture the boys on how to leave it spotless.  The logistics of getting it all to work together look a little overwhelming!  Pray for me today!

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Do Unto Others

  1. fwren says:

    Oh how I wish I could come help you!  One thing at a time ~ just breathe ~

  2. Anonymous says:

    Show your house!! What are you going to do if it sells???

  3. SpazzyMommy says:

    The only flaw I see in your plan is relying on FOUR teenaged MALES to leave a house spotless. You’ll make HISTORY if it happens!!! *LOL*

  4. QMTJ says:

    Praying for you!  Thanks for the Spurgeon quote!!  Timely.  Q.’

  5. homefire says:

    @sacretese – Well, if by some miracle that would happen, we’ll figure something out!    We have a piece of property we’d like to build on, but decided not to start unless this sells.  Frankly, we hadn’t expected any action at all, because it’s been for sale for about a year, and there’s just NO real estate moving here.  We’ll see…@SpazzyMommy – That is exactly what’s worrying me!  Yikes!  But I guess I won’t know how it looks until after the fact, and I’ll be too busy to think about it, so I’ll just have to trust in God!  What I’m even more worried about is making sure they get out of bed and out of the house by 10!!  @fwren – @QMTJ – Thanks for the encouragement and prayers! 

  6. lookin4Jesus says:

    Praying……..have a wonderful weekend! I’m feeling a little jealous for the experience…….

  7. dovenurse says:

    I can empathize on the house cleaning. On top of cleaning my room for company Thurs nite.  I had to work Tues nite, wens nite, AND thurs nite. So between cleaning house for moms company, sleeping, babysitting 2 of those evenings before work, cleaning my own room (It never seems as dirty when I am sleeping in it.) and work. I could really use a good nights sleep. And I have a big weekend comming up!

  8. Hutch5 says:

    ugg! i hate when things snowball this way. i hope you wake up tomorrow with just a complete calmness in your heart and readiness to face whatever comes your way!! drink large amounts of caffine combined with sugar!! 🙂 ~ that always helps the day pass faster!! 🙂 🙂 :)blessings to you.

  9. deyoderized says:

    Hope things went well for you.  The thoughts by Spurgeon are so good, and I needed that. So thanks.

  10. mom1945 says:

    @homefire You looked so calm and collected this weekend. I just now read your message and had no idea about your extra responsibilities of showing your house. Thanks for helping make it a wonderful weekend!@dovenurse Thanks for your very comfortable room for a couple nights and for taking my 21 yr old under your wing. Your room was fine! :)God bless all you wonderful MI. folks!

Leave a Reply

