Making (Up) History?

 

I just read an interesting article that makes me curious how much longer we will have any kind of free press at all.  It seems that Wikipedia, which supposedly can be edited by anyone, has been instantly deleting from their entry on Barack Obama any information that refers to the question of where he was born.  Evidently, that is not the type of thing they wish to impart about our new president, even though it was a widely debated issue during his campaign.  Also conspicuously missing from their article is any mention of his association with Rev. Jeremiah Wright and Bill Ayers.  Contributors who tried to add any these items to the entry were banned for adding “Point of View junk edits.”  Interesting that these established facts have suddenly become someone’s “point of view” and “junk.”

History revision, anyone?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Making (Up) History?

  1. mrcolorful says:

    That actually doesn’t surprise me at all.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Because those questioning his birth are white supremacist pigs – that’s why. The guy wouldn’t have gotten into parliment if he had any flaws of that sort – obviously those who’s writings have been scrapped by Wikipedia have been writing crap – Wikipedia only allows well reasearched pieces of information – not forum-type garbage.Besides – Wikipedia isn’t the end-all and be-all of information – one should look alot further afield if one is looking for infaliable facts.

  3. fwren says:

    hmmmm ~ we just attended the session on history revision from The Truth Project on Friday evening ~ very enlightening ~

  4. homefire says:

    @I_Am_Free_2_Be_Me – Um, I wasn’t aware that BO had been in Parliament.    But I don’t believe it’s a law that one must be a natural born citizen to be in Congress.  And you’re certainly right that Wiki is not at all infalliable.  I just thought that it was ironic that they are suppressing these facts.Just to clarify… The submissions had all the proper citations that Wikipedia requires and did not make any judgment.  They simply stated that this controversy had happened.  Which is fact.

  5. BooksForMe says:

    I think my first thought is that it’s just Wikipedia.  Who really considers that a solid source for anything factual?  But, then, I remember we live in a society that is full of people who do.

  6. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Not only are there many who consider it factual (I did until I discovered it could be edited by anyone) but it worries me that this may be only a beginning.  Wikipedia is a very easily changed medium–a good starting place.  What’s next?

  7. homefire says:

    @fwren – I’ve just been browsing the Truth Project’s website.  Looks pretty neat–are you enjoying it?

  8. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – Won’t it be fun to be able to review history in heaven?  See what really happened?  I wonder how Christian curriculum will handle Obama’s birthplace issue.

  9. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Now that is a very interesting question!     Of course, if he brings our country crashing down, we may never know.  After all, history is written by the victors!And reading current events is making me much more anxious for heaven!

  10. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – There’s a guy who often visit Fox News and talks about how public school and college texts are slanted.  There was just a story about one school book that lumped all religions together and featured Islam.  Ridiculous!  BUT, most people put up with it.  I’m more and more anxious for Heaven, too. It’s kinda weird. 

  11. josaju says:

    I’ve heard that Wikipedia is not accurate.  Fascinating that they don’t allow facts unfavorable to Obama but…not surprising.  I too wonder how long we can express the truth.  His goons always are trying to destroy any opposition whatsoever.  I wonder when people will wake up.

  12. homefire says:

    @josaju – When will people wake up?  Not soon enough obviously!  It’s amazing all the harm that has already been done!  Btw, check out my latest pulse.  

  13. the_grat says:

    oh hon – if you want to hear about history revision, check out abe lincoln (or e-mail me, and i can tell you more).NOT the good guy he is written up to be in my kid’s history book.but… it takes a perfect death to make a perfect man, right ?

Leave a Reply

