Do You Know Your Friends?

Maybe it was the time I called my son on his cell phone to tell him to keep the noise down upstairs.

Or perhaps it was the day I saw my daughter and her friend, one at the desk and one on the laptop, sitting three feet away from each other, chatting online.

I’m not sure when I realized that talking face to face had gone out of style.

Have you noticed that?

Never have we had so many ways to communicate with other human beings.  Look me up on Facebook, read my xanga, catch my Twitter, and don’t forget to check out my YouTube videos.  Oh, and here’s my cell number–text me sometime!!

I’m curious…do we know each other better now that we talk so often?  Has this constant flow of words and images improved our relationships, brought us closer together?

Facebook, for instance, which is enormously popular, is a wonderful way to network with a large number of people very quickly.  However, it seems to be largely geared to exchanging quick one-liners, and if you have a thousand friends, how many do you ever actually see face to face?

Compare that to many years ago when people met at the village well each morning while they were drawing water.  Or even not so many years ago when young mothers chatted over the fence while they hung diapers on the clothesline.  Those people probably saw the same dozen or so people regularly, and rarely talked with anyone else. 

I wonder how their relationships were compared to ours?  Are we more or less intimate?  Do we share our hearts more or less easily with our friends?  How much have we gained, and have we sacrificed anything in the shift toward technology?

It would be really interesting to know.

One thing that bothers me is that it’s easy to ignore our face-to-face relationships in favor of the long-distance ones.  I’ve often noticed young people hanging out together, saying little to each other, but busily texting other friends.

Instead of talking while traveling, it becomes easier for each person to become isolated into their own little world.  Get on the airplane, clap on the headphones, and close your eyes.  How many opportunities do we miss by that?

I wonder.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Do You Know Your Friends?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’ve never thot of this…I’m going to go to bed and lay there thinking of this tonight!!

  2. Gail2 says:

    That was good thoughts, and our daughter has phone me from her bedroom does that count? lol and yes I see many people with other people but always, texting someone!! UGH!! even while driving and talking to me in the store!!! grrr….have a great weekend!

  3. fwren says:

    I have long thought that over-the-fence neighboring largely went out with the advent of the TV.  People suddenly started not needing each other so much anymore for someone to “entertain” or visit with ~ they had a box in their living room.  Technology has only furthered that concept, I expect.  And I also expect that, barring the destruction of electricity, there is no turning back ~ rather sad ~

  4. You’re showing your age, sista!

  5. homefire says:

    @heirbyadoption – my maturity, you mean.    Long time, no see– Glad you stopped by!

  6. Good musings.   I’ve wondered the same things, but I sure do enjoy seeing where old friends have landed via Facebook!

  7. deyoderized says:

    Good questions.  Let us know when you come up with the solutions.     I have a friend who revealed (not over a washline, but while sitting in a hot tub in freezing temperatures) that they have rules (gasp) for their children concerning cell phone usage.  One of them being: No texting during meals.  I guess that’s a small place to start. 

  8. BooksForMe says:

    Did you see Zits today?  About two years ago I put a near halt to Hannah chatting online.  I don’t like electronic chat much.  I think it fails miserably.  It’s a wonder couples meet and marry through online dating, but it happens quite successfully sometimes.  Maybe, that’s something that throws a wrench in my argument. LOLI am glad Hannah hasn’t started texting, yet (no cell), and glad she is forced to write letters. She’s had a hard time finding people to write her, though.  Lots of complaints from her peers.  Sad.  Nothing beats chatting over a cup of tea at the kitchen table.  I miss when friends when visit.  Now, it’s a quick, icky email.  “How’s it going?  Gotta go! TTYL!”  Groan. 

  9. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Hannah actually has no cell?  Amazing!  I’m not surprised that her friends complain.  Seems like they are getting phones younger and younger these days!  I was just talking to another friend who said they had taken their kids roller skating the other night and it was just amazing–anytime kids weren’t busy they were all on their cell phones.  I’m thinking about another post on this, because that got me thinking.No, I didn’t see Zits–have to go look it up! 

  10. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – Well, you know, we’re missionaries.  I’d have given her a cell phone long ago, but we live on less than the average poor person. LOL

  11. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – I know what you mean.  Our cell phones are our biggest monthly bill.    Well, other than groceries, I guess.  I’ve been really wondering if I shouldn’t give up mine.  We got it back in more prosperous days, and I really don’t need it much anymore.

Leave a Reply

