Is This Your REAL Mask?

 

Man is least himself when he talks in his own person.
Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth.

-Oscar Wilde

Is that true?  It made me think of xanga.  How many of us are more ourselves online than we are in person?  Is it easier to be honest when you cannot see the person you’re speaking to?  Is it easier if the person doesn’t know you?  Do you find yourself being nastier in writing than you would ever be in person?  Or are you kinder when you take the time to type it out?

How intimidated are you by the expectations of people in your real life?  Do you feel freed from those when you’re online?  Or are you more comfortable talking face to face?

Just some mental meanderings that this quote evoked for me…What do YOU think?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Is This Your REAL Mask?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I honestly think i’m pretty much me on Xanga.  But you’d have to ask my dad to completely verify that.  LOL!

  2. fwren says:

    I think I am myself both online and in person ~ guess I don’t know how to be anything else.

  3. I think there are many who are themselves, and I appreciate those folks.  I do try to be me; it’s not going to help anyone if I’m not me, and isn’t worth a thing if I’m not me.  I love others who are just themselves and will just share with wisdom and discernement.   But I do notice at times, people who comment differently on different sites and use completely different attitudes towards different people.  I’ve been railed against by a couple, and they are like a bat out of hell.  And then I see them behaving so angelically on other sites.  Also, the cliques I see here…Ought not be.  Ought not be especially in the Christian realm.  Methinks there are a lot of very insecure folks hiding behind pcs.  Will it keep me from blogging?  No. I’ll try to focus on the good and use my time here wisely.   Great entry!  Blessings!

  4. perelandra30 says:

    I am the only me that there is and that I know how to be.  It takes too much effort to be anyone else.  Once, when I was young, I tried to be other than I am but keeping up the ruse was too difficult.

  5. AngelAware says:

    Im more free on xanga. I express my thoughts MORE then I can in person Im shy in general, alot of people meet me and think Im stuck up or rude….im just shy really. But On the internet……..I come out of that shell and do and say more then I can in person.  Its been a gift for meThank you for your comments and prayers, I appreciate you so much I tried to answer all the questions poeple have been asking me on my recent post

  6. BooksForMe says:

    “I yam what I yam, and that’s all that I yam!”

  7. Anonymous says:

    I’m definately more free to share on xanga. I’m way to much a “people pleaser” and don’t want to offend in person. Here I can say what I feel pressed to say. But, I can still me intimidated, (blog removed recently ) which is interesting.I love people and this is such a fun way to connect and encourage others.

  8. This is interesting.  I have been much more shy on Xanga than I am in person-which is not shy at all.  I am still myself if I do make a comment, it is just much more thought out and reviewed before I hit submit.  If only I could train my mouth in real life!

  9. msmarie0106 says:

    I am pretty much the way I present myself on Xanga.  Somedays up, somedays down….  I’m a people person in that I want people to get along and not have anything against each other.  I’ve found that I really open myself up too much and spill my guts all over people.  Sometimes I just need to keep things to myself more.  

  10. homefire says:

    @RebornLovingHim –   It’s good to hear from someone who restrains themselves more online.  I think that’s me, too.  When I type it out, proofread it, edit it, I tend to be kinder than when I just blurt!    Amen to the mouth training!   

  11. Personally, I think I’m a little more reserved on line than in real life. But I do see those (you can tell) who are much bolder behind their monitors.

  12. homefire says:

    @viewinghuijia – Yeah, I guess intimidation happens….

  13. roamingchile says:

    I’m certainly more free in the written word. I began this Xanga account anonymously… but I decided I need to be known… to have boldness to write what I felt as me.Masks certainly help… be we need to grow out of them eventually. Methinks.

  14. mamaglop says:

    You ask such interesting questions.  Sometimes I feel like pondering but not weighing in.  I resolved to keep my blog readable for everybody.  I don’t name names, and I don’t rant or get negative (generally)  I DO sometimes write things I would not say, (I think its the freedom we have to bring up a subject when we initiate the conversation, and not have to work up to in a socially prescribed manner).  So, no, I don’t write the way I talk, some of it is more really me and some of it is less really me, -hopefully the parts you would appreciate me editing anyway!If I do express a strong opinion, (and I have some) I don’t relish the negative comments I might recieve, It’s really depressing when people do not agree with me when I am so obviously espousing the only correct position, so I bend Mr. M.’s ear and leave the firestorm of comments for other xangans.

  15. homefire says:

    @mamaglop –   Love that last paragraph.  I can relate!  I try very hard not to be too hard-nosed, but I know exactly what you mean.  I also really like the thought that we have  freedom “to bring up a subject when we initiate the conversation, and not have to work up to in a socially prescribed manner”    That is so true, and I’d never really thought of it before.

  16. I think it’s a case-by-case basis.. depending on each bloggers’ personality ?I understand this comment, contributed absolutely nothing to the debate, one way or the other, but.. I don’t think their is one, definitive answer.. I guess, I would fall into the category of being pretty much the same on & off-line.. again, I’m no help, but.. a mask can come in handy, when you’re anxious about a direct confrontation or criticism of someone..

Leave a Reply

