A Quote and a Question

 

Happiness is not a goal; it is a by-product.
-Eleanor Roosevelt

 

I’m happy.    We’ve just spent a wonderful weekend with old friends, and while I am physically wiped out, I am emotionally flying high.  Friends are such a blessing! 

A question that I have this morning: 

Woe to you! For you build the tombs of the prophets whom your fathers killed. So you are witnesses and you consent to the deeds of your fathers, for they killed them, and you build their tombs. 
Luke 11:47-48

What is that saying?  How does it apply to my life? 

I’ve read over it many times, but before, all the surrounding verses have overshadowed it, because they have such very obvious applications that I can see all around me.  Today, this one stuck out.

I guess the reason it confuses me is that I have always thought of “building a tomb” as being an honor to the person who died.  (Think of the Taj Mahal–that’s one wife who hasn’t been forgotten.)  But here they are being rebuked for it–is it because they are being hypocritical?  Or am I wrong about the tomb being an honor?  Even if they are hypocrites, how does tomb building “witness and consent to” the killings? 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Quote and a Question

  1. addyorable says:

    I’m happy too It’s awesome to be able to cast all my cares on Jesus. I’m still thinking about that verse myself.

  2. At first glance….I don’t think it has anything to do with tomb building really.I think it has more to do with honoring that which has opposed the hand of God, thus aligning yourself with the enemies of God.Maybe this is a similar thing to blasphemy?

  3. bwebbjr says:

    Does seeing the Matthew version provide any additional insight?29 “Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you build the tombs of the prophets and adorn the monuments of the righteous, 30 and say, ‘If we had been living in the days of our fathers, we would not have been partners with them in shedding the blood of the prophets.’ 31 “So you testify against yourselves, that you are sons of those who murdered the prophets. 32 “Fill up, then, the measure of the guilt of your fathers. 33 “You serpents, you brood of vipers, how will you escape the sentence of hell ? Matt 23:29-33 (NASB)Perhaps there is something to be learned in the midst of who Jesus is specifically addressing – scribes, Pharisees aka hypocrites … I tend to believe teachings on the Pharisees are focused on the super religious, super legalistic, slef-righteous based on their efforts … not the work of Christ.  Was Jesus sending you and I a message? Or was He trying to open the eyes of those who thought they were both well and could see but were in reality both sick and blind.  And does this and the Luke passage somehow tie into this next passage.59 And He said to another, “Follow Me.” But he said, “Lord, permit me first to go and bury my father.” 60 But He said to him, “Allow the dead to bury their own dead; but as for you, go and proclaim everywhere the kingdom of God.” 61 Another also said, “I will follow You, Lord; but first permit me to say good-bye to those at home.” 62 But Jesus said to him, “No one, after putting his hand to the plow and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.” Luke 9:59-62 (NASB)Perhaps the tombs is a reflection of looking back vs. looking ahead …For your consideration …

  4. mrcolorful says:

    What occurs to me with that is two things.  First, to me it seems to be speaking out against just flowing with the winds, kind of saying “makeup your mind and do what you believe is right, stop trying to play both sides.”  The second thing is kind of a different way of saying that things of this earth don’t matter so quit exalting humans.I could be wrong on both counts though.

  5. lookin4Jesus says:

    I really need to think on this a while and probably should before I comment, but…it seems the father’s killed them and now they are building the tombs or monuments, memorials…just checked the dictionary and it says that a monument keeps alive their memory. Maybe they were keeping alive the deeds of their fathers, the wrong they had done and were still doing it? Don’t know for sure, but I think I just heard someone give an explanation on this and I need to wrack my brain. I’ll let you know if I remember, but don’t count on it!! :~)

  6. the_grat says:

    Or… burying in the common english sense, which is to put away, or eliminate the haunting facts from the eyes of all.  As the scripture clearly says, they have viewed the bodies, and witnessed the deed (even if only after the fact, the witness & testimony remain), and instead of seeking justice to be done in true honor of those who are dead, they seek to exemplify a ‘false honor’ by burying – and also to remove the testimony of the innocent blood which cries out from the ground.   It is cowardice & lies, and the utmost arrogance. This is not just, and this is not honor. From the testimony of the man who proclaimed “what does the Lord require of thee, oh man, but that you Do Justice, Love Mercy, and Walk Humbly with your God” I suspect these actions would indeed be highly offensive.

  7. the_grat says:

    ps… on a legal note (any one of my C.J. professors would agree), disposing of the body makes you an ’accomplice to the murder.’ Or at the very least, ‘accessory to the crime.’  Interesting sidenote – There is a clause, however, that allows for anyone who was involved with theplanning and carrying out of a crime, to turn against it, and if they attempt to stop it, and seek true justice for those who remain involved, they can be exonerated.Ok… so now you’ve had my opinions on both the heart of the matter of the text, and the legal remifications.The questions still remains (which only you can answer) how do you think this applies to You ?

  8. homefire says:

    @bwebbjr – Bernie, thanks for reminding me to check the other gospels–that definitely does clarify it.@the_grat – Thanks, grat.  A bit of a different twist, and that does make sense.  Btw, you quoted one of my lifelong favorite verses.    And I’m defintiely mulling the application to my own life, but I’m not sure I’ve come up with anything specific yet.  @wherever_we_go – @mrcolorful – @lookin4Jesus – Thanks for your input.  I think we’re all sort of coming to a consensus.  This has helped me!

Leave a Reply

