Grammar Police

I happened onto an amazing article this morning.  I guess I’m not so bad after all.  Apparently, there are actually people who go around correcting errors on menus and street signs, and I have never done that!  It also mentioned a couple of funny blogs here and here .  If you are at all bugged by improper quotation marks, you will love the first one! 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grammar Police

  1. I have been known to change public signs for the better. Undercover Grammar Police–that’s me!

  2. SpazzyMommy says:

    Aw. This must be the topic of the week.I was at my Dad’s on Saturday, Sunday and again last night editing a sermon book he’s working on getting published. (ai-yi-yi!  Could of used up two red pens! LOL)  Then- yesterday my friend sent me an email and I think I’ll share it with you. It’s brilliantly written!!*It has come to our considered attention that in a large majority of cases, far too many people use a great deal more words than is absolutely necessary when engaged in the practice of writing sentences. If you proofread and edit your work, you can find that by rereading and editing, a great deal of redundant repetition can be removed and eliminated by rereading, proofreading, and editing, so you should reread and edit to remove and eliminate these redundant repetitions. A writer must not shift your point of view. If the writer is considerate of the reader, he won’t have a problem with ambiguous sentences. If a dependent clause precedes an independent clause put a comma after the dependent clause. But avoid commas, that are not necessary, and don’t overuse exclamation marks!!! In statements involving two word phrases, make an all out effort to use hyphens, but make sure you hyp-henate properly. Verbs has to agree with their subjects, and the adverb always follows the verb. This sentence no verb. Which is not a complete sentence, but merely a subordinate clause. Avoid colloquial stuff, and trendy locutions that sound flaky. Also, always avoid all awkward and affected alliteration. Unqualified superlatives are the worst of all. Beware of and eschew pompous prolixity, and avoid the utilization of enlarged words when shortened ones will suffice. Avoidification of neologisms strengthenifies your prosification. Avoid using sesquipedalian words. It is not resultful to transform one part of speech into another by prefixing, suffixing, or other alterings. Perform a functional iterative analysis on your work to root out third generation transitional buzz words. The de facto use of foreign phrases vis-a-vis plain English in your written tete-a-tetes is not apropros. *

  3. homefire says:

    @SpazzyMommy – ROFLOL!~  That is just wonderful–masterful!  Someone worked really long and hard on that one.    I love it, and I am definitely saving it to share with some friends.  That last paragraph even gave me some new additions to my vocabulary.    Thank you SO much!  That’s a gem, and I bow in homage to the author.@TeacherPerson – A-HA!  So you are one of them!    I don’t think I’ve ever changed a sign, but I have been known to correct books, even library books.  

  4. I thought I was bad, but I’ve never corrected anything.  I usually catch at least one error in books and several in the newspaper.  Appitizers?  That was a header on a menu Sat. night.  Argh!

  5. BooksForMe says:

    Fun links.  I hate grammar errors, especially from arrogant people.  

Leave a Reply

