One Year Ago Today

It’s hard to believe, but our daughter has been married for one whole year already!  We have a great son-in-law, a grandchild on the way,  and since they live close enough that we can see them fairly frequently, we are certainly richly blessed.

And when I think of the blizzard that blew in the morning after the wedding, that’s pretty amazing, too.  Right now I am looking out at the constant drip…drip…drip of a huge thaw.  After temperatures in the 30s for several days, we have lost a LOT of snow.  The roofs are bare, the streets are bare, and everything is rather ugly.  Melting, dirty snow is just not a pretty sight.  Ah, well, if it will only stay warm now, it will be pretty again soon!

This evening I am venturing into new culinary territory.  Anyone ever fried smelt?  A friend gave us a bagful of these tiny little fish, so I’m going to give it a shot.  We’ve been told they’re very good, so I hope we think so! 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Year Ago Today

  1. nidan says:

    hope they are happy!!!Pass along my congrats!!!

  2. fwren says:

    I love fried smelt, but don’t remember that I’ve ever fixed them myself ~ just eaten them at restaurants ~ now that I think of it, I think my mother used to fix them when I was a girl ~

  3. Anonymous says:

    Your first grandchild? Can’t imagine!

  4. mom1945 says:

    I’ve been smelt fisihng in the Pacific ocean, and they are delicous! šŸ™‚ Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

