Fascinating Fact

 

In a recent Gallup Poll, 58 percent of Republicans reported having excellent mental health, but only 38 percent of Democrats described themselves that way.

Is that just coincidence or is there a reason?  Is it a cause/effect relationship?  And if so, which way? 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fascinating Fact

  1. Liberalism IS a mental illness. 

  2. BooksForMe says:

    Some might say Republicans live in a state of delusion, as in denial about their mental health as they are about their politics.

  3. gsmith03 says:

    @BooksForMe – That’s true.  All this means is that the Democrats were being more honest about having mental health issues and/or the Republicans were more deluded.  Asking the people themselves is not an indicator of anything.  After all, a crazy person doesn’t think they’re crazy.  Ask a psychologist, who can actually diagnose mental illness and will be more objective than the people themselves.  Plus, you also have to remember that Republicans have a higher average income than Democrats, which would also seem to lead to better mental health, especially in this struggling economy.  You also need to take into account that this was not a random sampling, as it was just done by telephone interviews.  The only results you are going to get are the people who 1) have land lines, 2) answered the phone, and 3) wanted to answer the question (meaning they were probably biased).  In order to have a true random sampling, you need to use various methods and times of polling or else your results are going to be skewed.  In order to get an accurate picture of what is actually going on, you also should look at multiple polls, not just one.You can also make statistics say whatever you want.  Just because one variable is associated with another doesn’t mean they have anything to do with each other.  Your poll question could be loaded, you might have a poor sampling, or there simply might be other unknown variables linking the two.  I’ve taken several classes in statistics in high school and college, and one thing they always drill into your head is CORRELATION DOES NOT IMPLY CAUSALITY.Thank you, Fox News, for making us dumber.

  4. homefire says:

    @gsmith03 – I knew you’d love her comment, George.    Even though you give us a lecture on how statistics mean nothing (or whatever you want them to) you jumped right on it, didn’t you?  Yep, the Repubs are deluded, uh-huh. Hopping right on the bandwagon when it suits your view–I am LOL!  Or maybe these statistics mean that liberals are following a belief system that doesn’t work, and they are having trouble dealing with the inconsistencies in their lives? 

  5. Maybe the poll was taken before the election…

  6. gsmith03 says:

    @homefire – Oh yeah, there are a bunch of different possibilities.  There could be reasons for the mental health problems that are explained by other factors than political party.  Or there could be no mental health issues at all.  And I do tend to be more of a Democrat, so naturally I am going to want to counter when I see something like that.   I could start quoting you many statistics that go the other way, about sex education, global warming, economics, etc., but you would say the exact same thing I did.  I actually have done it before (with global warming).  I found statistics going against your position, and you countered by saying you can find statistics for almost anything.  So I guess we’re even, then. I don’t usually pay much attention to statistics all around.  If I do, I usually try to find multiple polls that give me a more comprehensive picture of what is actually going on.

  7. homefire says:

    @gsmith03 – have to check what you said about global warming–I’ve forgotten.  I just found some more things I want to research on that.  I didn’t say you weren’t right about statistics–I just said that before you got down to that, you were pretty happy to accept her supposition.  And yes, I tend to support my viewpoint as well.    I just thought it was funny that you did both in the same breath.@RebornLovingHim – Yeah, cause now we’re ALL going crazy!    Including a lot of BO’s supporters.  Wonder how much his approval ratings have gone down by now?

  8. gokellyjo says:

    Republicans take responsibility for their own health and wellness.  Democrats are still waiting for the government to do it.  They are going to wait a long time.  

  9. BooksForMe says:

    @gsmith03 – @homefire – The whole thing is silliness.  

  10. the_grat says:

    well, in my experience, those with mental illness rarely admit it as honestly. and those whom i know with the soundest minds… perhaps they have such by their willingness to question their mind, and if necessary, heal it or change it.

  11. homefire says:

    @the_grat – interesting view–so does that mean I am one of your sound-minded friends or not? 

Leave a comment