How Much is a Trillion?

 

I just watched a video posted by ProvokingThought and was amazed.  Do YOU know how much a trillion is?

Well, a stack of a trillion dollar bills will reach a third of the way to the moon, and a trillion seconds is almost 32,000 years, but the example that amazed me most was this one: 

If, beginning the day Jesus was born, you spent a million dollars a day, today you would only have spent about 3/4 of a trillion.

I am trying not to badmouth the current administration, since the election is over and it’s too late to warn people, so I’m not saying a word (not one word!) against the economic stimulus package.  But isn’t it interesting that spending a million dollars a day for two thousand years would be roughly equivalent to what our government wants to spend on this?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How Much is a Trillion?

  1. Anonymous says:

    What is going to be even more interesting is the runaway inflation we will see after the printing presses crank out all this money.

  2. fwren says:

    My stomach feels sick ~

  3. Hutch5 says:

    hmm… my brain can’t even fathom that amount of money!!! : o   and btw – i finally DID find the universal inbox. which i know this is weird but “universal inbox” just kinda sounded freaky to me!! :/  πŸ™‚ however, it is wonderul and super easy like you said. and so far i’ve discovered nothing freaky there… only all the names & faces of my sweet xanga friends. =D and they’re not freaky at all… that i know of!! hee hee!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. thanks for the thoughts & prayers-they mean a lot to me!you’re so stinkin’ interesting w/ your posts… this was a good one!

  5. homefire says:

    @idonotfearthem – Thanks!  And I’m so glad you’re feeling better! 

  6. If you had a trillion dollars, in one dollar bills, and threw away 1 each second, it would take you: 31,688 years 269 days 17 hours 34 minutes 25 seconds! Thats a long time. God bless our president and have mercy on our nation.

  7. mamaglop says:

    We are wondering -where is the public outcry? Why not say something, many things, even bad things about the package? I can’t believe we are letting this happen.

  8. homefire says:

    @mamaglop – Okay, good point.  Do you really think most of the public are unaware of what’s happening?  There are quite a few people shouting it.  I just read more about it last night and I admit I am appalled.  Even I didn’t expect anything this blatant in the first couple weeks in office.  Reminds of a quote.  I think I’ll post it.

Leave a Reply

