A last trip to The Shack

Before I leave the Shack to go back to Velvet Elvis  I think I’ll share a couple quotes that I liked.  Both of them are spoken by “God.”

“Nobody knows what horrors I have saved the world from ‘cuz people can’t see what never happened.  All evil flows from independence, and independence is your choice.  If I were simply to revoke all the choices of independence, the world as you know it would cease to exist and love would have no meaning.  This world is not a playground where I keep all my children from evil…  If I take away the consequences of people’s choices, I destroy the possibility of love.  Love that is forced is no love at all.”

The trouble with priorities [like God first, family second, etc…] is that “If you put God at the top, what does that really mean and how much is enough?  How much time do you have to give me before you can go on about the rest of your day, the part that interests you so much more?  You see, Mackenzie, I don’t just want a piece of your life.  Even if you were able, which you are not, to give me the biggest piece, that is not what I want.  I want all of you and every part of you and your day.”

That last one especially struck me as very well put.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A last trip to The Shack

  1. That is powerful.  I know the book isn’t perfect but it seems so many use more energy in ripping these books instead of seeing good in them and allowing them to draw them closer to the Lord.Have a great day in Jesus as we all draw closer to Him! : ) 

  2. bwebbjr says:

    Really liked The Shack as well.  I never wrote about it because I wasn’t sure how folks might respond to the different physical manifestations of God as the author revealed them in the book.  More importantly I guess I wasn’t quite sure how I might explain it.  But it is a really good book … and the audio version is excellent and usually available in a few places for a download for less than $10.  the narrator does an incredible job in embracing each of the characters.  I wholeheartedly agree with the lesson on priorities.  If you have a #1 priority, at some time it falls to a lower number as you deal with other priorities.  Jesus is to be over all and in the midst of all.  Priorities are easy … and under our control.  What Jesus demands requires surrender and a loss of control … I guess that explains it.  Be blessed IN Christ Jesus!  Bernie

  3. fwren says:

    Yep, He wants ALL ~ why is it so hard to give Him His desire when He loves to give us ours?

  4. I just happened upon your Xanga, because I saw your profile photo. I’m a photographer, and that lighthouse looks like one I’ve photographed. (Little Sable) I know a lot of lighthouses look alike though, so I was just wondering if it was the same one.

  5. homefire says:

    @MeganNoble_24 – Yep, you got it right!  It’s a beautiful one.  Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

