This is Funny

I just subscribed to a free e-newsletter that is supposed to teach you how to be more frugal.  I received my first issue, which had the headline

Five Simple Steps To Save $500 A Month On Your Grocery Budget – Without Sacrificing Taste!

I had to laugh.  Last year our family averaged less than $500 a month for groceries.  So if we do this, I guess they’ll be paying us to eat? 

Maybe I should be writing one of these newsletters instead of reading them? 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to This is Funny

  1. lol maybe you should too!

  2. haha, THAT is funny!  (psst, red font on red background?)

  3. Anonymous says:

    LOL!!!  I think that’s a great idea!

  4. homefire says:

    @mjh905 – oops.  Now that is weird.  Here my background has disappeared, and it’s white.  Wonder why you’re seeing it and I’m not?Anyway, it’s fixed now.  Thanks!

  5. SpazzyMommy says:

    I have four kids…I have to pack lunches for them each day, provide after school snack, breadkfast and dinner, bring sunday school snacks, our friday night group snacks…and host several family dinner a month…and STILL don’t spend $500 a month in groceries!  THATS FUNNY!

  6. homefire says:

    @SpazzyMommy – Yeah, I have to wonder how ANYONE could spend so much that they could save $500!  We entertain a lot, have two teenage boys who inhale food, and we eat really well, I think!I looked through some of the tips:  Don’t buy soda or chips (we don’t, except for generic tortilla chips for nacho meals,)  eat out less (which would be pretty much never for us,) give up your Starbucks every day and pizza delivery every week (well, duh!)  So far I’m not finding much that is useful. 

  7. SpazzyMommy says:

    So these people feel like this is information valuable enough to send out in a newsletter? (LOL) Which demographic are they targeting??? Some of the CEO’s that have just agreed to their $1 a year salary??? (LOL)  Maybe they’ll cut back to only using the business jet once a month….and possibly cut out the bi-monthly trip to Europe? (LOL)

  8. fwren says:

    I wonder if they buy a lot of prepared foods, such as TV dinners, etc.  That stuff really does add up fast.  Boring!!!  We eat out quite a bit, but still don’t think we would save $500 by cutting most of that out ~ these people must really be eating high on the hog when they go out too!

  9. homefire says:

    @SpazzyMommy – Wanna start a newsletter with me? 

  10. homefire says:

    @fwren – Actually, I think their main advice for the first step on budget reduction was to cut back on eating out.  In fact, they advised using prepared foods if you were in a hurry, since it’s cheaper than eating out.  Some kind of frugal, isn’t it? 

  11. BooksForMe says:

    That is funny!  And, I can just imagine their tips. On second thought, their tips would probably irritate me. LOL 

  12. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Reminded me of the video you posted of the family who spent $1000/mo (or something ridiculous like that) for food.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Hey interesting. How you did this. Can we really do?

  14. Hutch5 says:

    too funny! i’m with you.. if i did that they’d be paying US!!! =)you SHOULD write an article for them~

Leave a Reply

