Unimaginably Big Numbers!~

Visualize one million dollars in $100 bills laid end-to-end.  You would need 20 minutes to walk the length of this line of cash; it’s about one mile.

Walk a line of $100 bills the length of the federal debt and it would take you 228 years.  This line of $100 bills would circle the earth 240 times.

If Columbus, when he stepped ashore in America, had immediately begun borrowing money at the rate of $20,000 per minute, by the year 2000, he would still not have borrowed the equivalent of today’s federal debt.

                                         ~Richard J. Maybury

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Unimaginably Big Numbers!~

  1. SpazzyMommy says:

    Good grief. And I was feeling bad about my balance of $400 on my Mastercard that I’ve yet to pay off. (LOL)

  2. The bit about Columbus is really telling. Yikes!

  3. Like_A_Tigah says:

    Woah…That’s alot of dough.

  4. BooksForMe says:

    When I read these things, I always wonder, “What kind of person makes these calculations?  Do they have nothing better to do with their time?  And, what does this information mean to me?”  I always feel like I’m missing some point.  LOL  

  5. sunshine1939 says:

    Interesting!!!!  Have a wonderful weekend.

  6. lglavy says:

    20,000 per MINUTE?  That one is the one i cannot wrap my brain around.  Where do they think this ‘money’ is coming from?  What is the payback plan again??

  7. homefire says:

    @lglavy – @TeacherPerson – @Like_A_Tigah – @fwren –  I know, it’s absolutely bizarre, isn’t it?  I just figured up–that’s 28.8 million per day..since 1492???  Just impossible.I wonder how much actual currency there is in the whole world, in American dollars…  and would it be enough to pay our national debt?@SpazzyMommy – LOL!@BooksForMe – Well, he was writing a book on economics, so I suppose it was worth his time.  And that information means little to me simply because I still can’t wrap my brain around it, but it does help me realize how far I really am from comprehending it.  It also makes you realize why government bigwigs are so out of touch with reality.@sunshine1939 – We are buried in snow–what about you? 

  8. deyoderized says:

    Wow!  Those figures blow me away!  The Columbus bit put it into a perspective that raises my ire! 

Leave a Reply

