Our Lawmakers Have Totally LOST THEIR MINDS!!

Maybe the rest of you have also been hearing about this new law.  I’ve read about it several places in the last week.  I’m wondering why no one was talking about it before!  When this law takes effect on February 9, 2009, each and every product sold in the USA for use by children age 12 & under MUST be tested and certified as lead and phthalates free–expensive testing, of course.  (and what in the world are phthalates, anyway?  )

Most of the things I’ve read about it have dealt with used children’s clothing (which is pretty much all my kids ever wore) and bemoaning the fact that it will hurt resale shops severely and our pocketbooks immensely when we can longer buy and sell children’s clothes.  (My answer to that is to simply trade them back and forth between families–they can’t regulate that, can they?)

But this morning I got an e-mail from a company that sells CDs, mostly targeted to homeschoolers.  They sent me this link http://www.homeschoolradioshows.com/liquidation/ which states that everything in their inventory must go by Feb 9, or they will have to take it to a landfill.

HUH????  CDs???  Since when has anyone EVER gotten lead poisoning from a CD?  Do you let your babies chew on them or what?  This whole thing is completely run amok! 

Congress may prate about their concern for the economy and the environment, but what this law will really do is drive a lot of small businesses to bankruptcy AND stuff our already overloaded landfills to overflowing.  WHERE is this helping our nation? (oh yeah, those phthalates testers …and the big retailers, who are going to be getting more of our money, since we can no longer buy used …)

EVERY site I have been able to find that deals with numbers of lead poisoning case shows a dramatic decline in the past ten years, so obviously whatever we’re doing is working.  It’s getting better, folks!  Continue with the things that are already working!

One interesting tidbit I gleaned:

Sources of Lead:

Dusting, flaking and peeling residential lead paint is by far the most significant source of lead exposure to children.1,3 Other important sources of childhood lead exposure include soil contaminated by industry or traffic, and contaminated drinking water systems. However, children can be exposed to lead from countless sources, including imported pottery and ceramics, imported foods, toys, or cosmetics, folk medicines, leaded weights and fishing sinkers, parent occupational exposures, and exposure to maternal lead stores during pregnancy or through breast milk.

So now that lead-based paint is becoming more and more rare, the next in order of concern is contaminated soil and drinking water.  So our government’s answer is to force countless businesses to dump all their inventory into LANDFILLS.  uh-huh. 

It seems to me that upgrading pre-1940s housing, which is where the vast majority of lead-poisoning seems to occur, would be far more helpful on this front than this utterly stupid law which has been passed.  Get rid of all that old lead-based paint, upgrade all those old plumbing systems–that is where the kids are getting it, NOT from their clothes and CDs.

Is anyone else as outraged by this as I am?  HOW can people be so utterly stupid?  WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Our Lawmakers Have Totally LOST THEIR MINDS!!

  1. Simbathe2nd says:

    I think this is only the beginning with this new administration.

  2. homefire says:

    @Simbathe2nd – Shoot, we can’t even blame this one on the new administration!  Bush signed it.  But I’m afraid you’re right, that things aren’t likely to get much better. 

  3. Simbathe2nd says:

    @homefire – That’s too bad. I can see it in some ways but they are taking it to extremes.

  4. fwren says:

    What were they thinking?  They WEREN’T thinking, that I can tell ~ you are right ~ utter stupidity.

  5. homefire says:

    @fwren – At first I thought it was all about “stimulating the economy” by giving a boost to the big retailers, but this just goes way beyond ridiculous!

  6. bwebbjr says:

    By your banner, are you suggesting that lawmakers once had a mind?And yes, it is outrageous!And I like how you moved to the conclusion on landfills – appreciate the update!Bernie

  7. They just want us to think we’re dumb.  They get away with a lot more.

  8. Check out the update to this law that came out on Thursday.

  9. BooksForMe says:

    Doug has long said that eventually the Body of Christ is going to have to stop trying to profit from one another.  Maybe, this is the start of a new day.  I mean, the government cannot stop us from giving to each other, right?  Either that, or it could be the start of the Underground Yard Sale Movement! Seriously, though, we really need to look at life differently.  Times are changing, but not like they did 80 years ago.  The return of the Lord is sooner than we believe, and before that glorious day, we may have many dark ones to endure. 

  10. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Amen.  I’m afraid we’re probably going to see a day when this seems minor. 

  11. lookin4Jesus says:

    I echoe ~ this is insane! But I’m afraid this is only the beginning!

  12. Anonymous says:

    The sad part is, this is something I didn’t see coming.  I think the lead is just an excuse.  I think there’s something else they are really trying to stop.

  13. Maybe it’s a scheme to help the large retailers who are slowly losing business due to Ebay and used stores that are doing well in business.  There’s usually always something that involves a money making scheme for someone behind every little thing that gets passed.

  14. mamaglop says:

    I think it must be a reaction to the rash of lead and melamine laced products coming from China. 

  15. BarryDadof3 says:

    For anyone interested this is the Link to the  update on the law for thrift and second hand stores by theU.S. Consumer Product Safety Commissionhttp://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml09/09086.html

  16. Allen_Oz says:

    @BooksForMe – I disagree depending on what exactly is meant by profiting. For example, I know a family of musicians who play all over the midwest but cannot justify the travel expenses without compensation by the churches they visit. It’s not unbiblical to be paid for the work you do. 

  17. homefire says:

    @BarryDadof3 – Thanks so much for the update-I hadn’t had time to search for it.  That will be good news to a lot of my friends!  It still puts a hardship on a lot of businesses, but at least we will still have access to used kids’ clothes.  That, at least, is a comfort!

  18. homefire says:

    @Allen_Oz – I’m not sure of your point.  Did anyone say anything against just compensation?  I assumed BFM was criticizing only unjust profit.  I am curious, though, Caroline, what sort of thing are you referring to?

  19. Allen_Oz says:

    @homefire – sorry I guess I was confusing profit and compensation. 

  20. P_Obrien says:

    Great idea! Let’s take all our lead contaminated stuff and throw it in a land fill. It will be much safer there. Governments exist these days to provide a tragic sort of comic relief for the rest of us. I like Conrad’s style well so far, but I haven’t gotten far enough to say whether I really like the book.

  21. dotmarie says:

    thankful for the update on the law. I was afraid for a little there that we’d have to move south so our baby could go naked all the time!

  22. homefire says:

    @dotmarie – LOL!  Well, that’s one solution!

  23. BooksForMe says:

    @Papillon_Mom – I think you’re right.  I think they’re trying to stop our independence from government.  But, who knows.  I think one must think like a Communist in order to understand the motives here.  I still think like an American.

  24. BooksForMe says:

    @Allen_Oz – @homefire – Hopefully, I can better explain my point.  Unfortunately, I think Allen_Oz is talking about ministry.  I was talking about Christian businesses.  So, that complicates things a bit. First, there is a difference between ministers and business-owners.  Or, there should be a difference.  As missionaries, we depend 100% on the Body of Christ to support the work we do.  It is God’s good pleasure for His Body to support His ministry.  He has made that perfectly clear to us.  In regards to music ministry, this is a very important service to the Body of Christ and the world.  I think it’s completely legitimate for a music ministry to receive financial support from the Body of Christ to help them do the work God has called them to do.I also think it’s OK for a music ministry to charge a reasonable fee for their materials—enough to cover the cost of producing them.  On the other hand, there are Christians who are in the music business (I’ll just stick with that category) who are free to charge whatever they like.  A musician who is a Christian is perhaps creating music that reflects his faith and might even be a blessing to the Body, but he is not a minister that uses music.  He is a musician who is filled with Jesus and cannot help the fact that Jesus shines through him and his creations.And, of course it is not wrong to work for money.  We’re supposed to get paid for the work we do. However, the ministry is not a job where we are employed by a human boss.  We are employed by God.  He should set the salary.NOW, about my original Comment here.  What I was trying to say is that Christians—not within the context of ministry—need to do more giving to one another, than selling to one another.  Like probably most of us, I know of so many Christians in business who are just not fair in their pricing.  They’re primary audience is other Christians, and they know it, and charge exorbitant prices.  They know they can get away with it, because there is so little competition for certain Christian materials.  I could name some businesses in both categories, but I won’t.   It is always such a blessing to encounter Christian businesses that actually charge a fair and reasonable price.  Sadly, I just haven’t encountered many.For the record: Personally, I believe that ministry materials should be free, because ministry is a gift to the Body from Christ.  The minister is only the Delivery Man.  What right does the Delivery Man have to put a price tag on what God has created and given to minister freely?  God will provide for His ministry to forward, without a doubt.  However, I understand that most  Christians don’t agree with that theory.  it’s a little too counter-culture.  Plus, people tend to think that what you give for free must not be any good.  Very messed up thinking.

  25. Allen_Oz says:

    @BooksForMe – “For the record: Personally, I believe thatministry materials should be free, because ministry is a gift to theBody from Christ.  The minister is only the Delivery Man.  What rightdoes the Delivery Man have to put a price tag on what God has createdand given to minister freely?  God will provide for His ministry toforward, without a doubt.  However, I understand that most  Christiansdon’t agree with that theory.  it’s a little too counter-culture. Plus, people tend to think that what you give for free must not be anygood.  Very messed up thinking.”As someone who has written for Christian magazines, which from my point of view can be seen as both a ministry and a business, I gotta say I can’t afford to write materials for free. I need to eat. I was given a part time job of writing materials for a Christian publication for a church. When the person in charge of the publication, the director of communications for the church quit, I was told that the only way I could keep my part-time job was by doing the publication job (which I have no background in and couldn’t do anyway) for free. Honestly I could barely afford doing what I was doing. I did it because I loved doing it, it wasn’t a very high-paying job. While I do think it’s important to give freely when we are able, I also have a vow I took to care for my wife. I can’t do that on nothing.

  26. BooksForMe says:

    @Allen_Oz – I think there is a difference between the call to full-time ministry and Christian service. 

  27. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – @Allen_Oz – Interesting discussion!  I think you’re both right.  There are ministries who take advantage of their customers and there are also Christians who take advantage of the “christian sharing ethic” to try to avoid paying a just wage.  And neither one is doing the right thing.  Caroline, I agree that it’s very frustrating to find some Christian materials that I’d love to use, but they are so exorbitantly priced that there’s no way, and that happens often.  On the other hand, Allen is right.  There are Christians who expect other Christians to give them things for free just because they are Christian.  I’ve seen church people who expect fellow Christians to do all manner of work for them for free, simply because they go to church together.  My husband has done a lot of “helping out” because he is a contractor and repair jobs seems to be something people need often.  Most times he is more than glad to do it, but occasionally someone asks him to do a job that he assumes is for pay, but he never gets paid.  That can present a problem, especially when the person he’s working for makes a profit from the work he’s done, and we are struggling to make ends meet.So both sides are at fault–the main thing is that we all treat one another fairly.  The laborer is worthy of his hire, but he shouldn’t be getting rich at someone else’s expense!

  28. Allen_Oz says:

    @homefire – Thanks it’s been a fun little discussion.

  29. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – @Allen_Oz – Tacky Christians will always be with us. Unfortunately.  Your husbandhas every right to charge for his services, because that is his job. What he gives away is up to him.  However, God expects him to be a goodsteward of his time, talent, and resources.  Charging for a jobwell-done is fair and right.  I think Allen_Oz was completely justifiedto not work for free.  Writing was part of his job, how he provides forhis family.  I just think that Christians may need to rethinkhow they conduct themselves in business.  If I was this person with theCDs, there is no way I would take a good product to a landfill justbecause I can no longer sell it.  Why not give it away to those peoplewho would benefit from it?  Why not let people have them for the priceof shipping, just because you can?  Instead, it’s a hard sell.  “Buynow before it’s too late!”  I think that kind of thinking has to stopin the church.  Is that good stewardship?  Is that the Golden Rule inaction? Now, of course, this may not even be a Christian business youare referring to—that was my assumption.

Leave a Reply

