Reading–the Lost Art

Okay, I am in shock.  I just got a newsletter from the local public school system which contained several little news items.  Among the articles about the new Literacy Stations (huh?  And here I thought school was all about literacy–silly me) and After-School Care, there was an artical entitled 24 Hour Reading Challenge is Successful

That caught my attention, since I love to read.  I was envisioning a read-a-thon where teams of kids read around the clock, but no.  “Students were challenged to read for a total of 24 hours over the summer…Students could read independently, share read, or have someone read to them.” 

So, ignoring the fact that obviously the school system hasn’t managed to get out a newsletter since school started (!) I had to adjust my expectations.  Over the time that the kids were off school, say 90 days or so, they were challenged to read, um, a total of 24 hours?  That averages out to a little over 15 minutes per day.  And this was considered admirable enough that the students who were able to complete it were rewarded with a special picnic and swimming day.

I wish I could say that all the kids easily met the challenge, but according to the article, only 26% of that elemantary school made it.  But the headline exclaimed it a success!  Apparently it is now so uncommon for people to read that 15 minutes per day is an outstanding accomplishment.  Very sad.

Considering the vast amount of printed material that is available in our country, isn’t this ironic, that our children no longer have much use for it?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reading–the Lost Art

  1. fwren says:

    Very sad ~ the last few years I worked at the library, there were way more DVD’s checked out than books ~ very discouraging ~

  2. Only twenty-four hours in twelve weeks???  That’s painful.

  3. rpgcluv says:

    True very sad but it took me a while to get into reading and now I want to read everything in site. These kids just need to find that one book that they can’t put down to discover how fascinating reading can be.

  4. Anonymous says:

    It’s sad when a City Council is trying to determine whether or not a Library should get any funding because, “Nobody goes to the library”.  This was said by one of the city council members in my town who NEVER goes to the library.  It’s kind of pathetic.  I go to the library and I see moms and/or dads with and/or without their kids EVERY TIME I go in.  It’s really sad.  The city council is even debating whether or not the Library should even be renovated!  It’s ridiculous!  They’ve complained that students aren’t doing well in reading classes, yet they don’t even promote the funding and renovating for the town Library!  It seems the bookstore in the mall is the only thing that is deemed worthy to be kept.I’d better get off this or I’m going to get really into it.  Two more questions and I’m done.  If reading and writing isn’t “important” enough to be promoted any more, why do colleges keep having their students write papers, read chapters, and discuss the information found?  Why do businesses find it mandatory that their employees are able to read, write, and do arithmetic, yet the public doesn’t really promote these things being learned?

  5. homefire says:

    @fwren – That’s amazing about the DVD checkouts.  I wouldn’t have ever guessed that to be the case, but you’ve made me curious.  I think I’ll ask our librarian.@J1988writer – Stories like that are so sad!  I’ve been so very thankful for a good library system, and it’s scary to think that may be the direction we’re headed.  Anyone remember Fahrenheit 451?

Leave a Reply

