Gingerbread House~

 

And now I have some pictures for you! 

This year I did a lighthouse with attached keeper’s quarters.

 IMG_2932 

It was fun, as always.  Lots and lots of Chocolate Skittles for the stone walls, Gummy Savers , choclate Neco wafers, and Twizzlers for the house roof, pretzels for the railing, and the lighthouse roof is Sour Punch Straws.  I wasn’t sure what to do for landscaping, since all the lighthouses I know are surrounded by sand and rocks, so we ended up adding some piles of chocolate stones and brown sugar sand.

The lighthouse was by far the hardest I’ve ever put together.  Four-sided buildings are much easier to handle than eight-sided ones!  I just don’t have enough hands, plus the walls had to lean in a bit, which was a challenge.

Now if we can just get the thing transported without trashing it, I’ll be happy!

Have a blessed New Year, everyone!

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gingerbread House~

  1. fwren says:

    It is gorgeous!!!  How do you get the windows to look “lit”?  And where in the world do you have to transport it?  Have a wonderful New Year’s Day ~

  2. CHOBLIT says:

    Very, very nice!  I love real lighthouses, too!  Happy 2009!! 

  3. lookin4Jesus says:

    What a beautiful work of art! It shows your artistic gift and patience! I admire but could never attempt such a thing. “She tried her hands, but her hands just wouldn’t”……

  4. sunshine1939 says:

    A wonderful work of art~~~~~~you are so talented!!!!!! Hope you make your transport without a mishap.  Wishing you a Happy New Year.Gods Blessing to all of you.Kay

  5. that’s so beautiful!!  yes, how DID you get the windows to look lit?

  6. WOW!!! That is amazing!!  Great job!! 

  7. homefire says:

    Thanks.  The windows are lit–there is a string of lights inside that shines out through the candy windows.  We brought it down to Mom’s for the family Christmas.  It survived the six-hour drive just fine! 

  8. ShineOn1983 says:

    That is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen!! I told Dwight to come look at it, and he said to tell you ( since I admired it so much:) that I am coming up for a weekend to learn how to do a gingerbread house like that! LOL WOW!!!! Sweet work!!

  9. BooksForMe says:

    This is made of AWESOME!  You are so talented.  Oh, my goodness!  Thank you for showing us your handiwork.  It’s fantastic!

  10. AMAZING!!!!  Can you give us an idea how you started the process?  did you have a pattern to follow?  how many of these have you made before you attempted something this complicated?  I love it!!!

  11. homefire says:

    @ShineOn1983 – Come on up!  That would be very fun to spend a weekend gingerbread-housing!  LOL  @specialtreasure – I usually draw a pattern on graph paper before I make the gingerbread.  This year, though, it was a different enough project that I drew it on the computer and printed it on cardstock so that I could tape it together and see how it fit.  It wasn’t proportioned well, so I had to do some adjusting.  Even after the cardstock one worked nicely, the real one had a few problems because I hadn’t figured in the thickness of the gingerbread (Which I should have remembered after all these years, but oh, well…)  It is a very good thing that many design flaws and even breaks can be covered nicely with icing!  I really don’t know for sure how many of them I’ve made.  I keep thinking I will go through old pictures and find them all so that I can make an album of them.  I’m guessing ten or twelve. probably.

Leave a Reply

