Blackest of Fridays

Well, of all the things that have whirled through my head today that may be bloggable, this has pre-empted them all.  My stomach is churning.  Greed has completely conquered America.  If you watch this video, be forewarned–it’s not pretty.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aM3wuAkNsd0 

 

My condolences to this family. 

May we fall on our faces before God, begging His mercy.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Blackest of Fridays

  1. Anonymous says:

    Looks like You Tube removed the video.  I am assuming this was the guy killed at Walmart from the people stampeding in?  From my understanding no one stopped to help him.  They just trampled him.  This is what our world has become.

  2. homefire says:

    Yeah, this person was there and took a  video on a cell phone.  Though it didn’t show the actual incident, it showed the emergency workers giving CPR.  The worst part was listening to the people who were standing there watching.  Now and then you heard a laugh, and it just made the whole thing so much more real to me somehow, that we as a society have come to a place where our hunger for more stuff kills people.

  3. lookin4Jesus says:

    I too went to the video and it had been removed. I echo your thoughts, as last night I told my family I was so sickened to read accounts of this. We have heard of people being trambled to death out of fear and panic ~ fires, storms, what have you, but just for shopping? This is animalistic! And I read this morning that when people were told someone had died and the store would be closing, they just complained about how long they had been standing in line! The god of mammon has struck!

  4. Interesting quote from one article I read…”I think it ties into a sort of fear and panic of not having enough,”said Joe Priester, a professor at the Marshall School of Business atthe University of Southern California and a former president of theSociety for Consumer Psychology. A herd mentality, he said, can leadindividuals to feel anonymous, so much so that they are capable oftrampling someone. “Fear combined with the group mentality?” he said.”It doesn’t surprise me at all.”Fear combined with a group mentality can be a dangerous thing indeed.No doubt there were a many in that crowd of 2000 or so who would honestly claim that they were “pushed” through the door.  I’ve been in those situations where I found myself in the middle of a large crowd moving in a certain direction where everyone is all jammed in tight.  It is a frightening feeling.  I’ve thought to myself, “What would happen if someone fell right now?”  I can see where people can get injured because the people in the back of the crowd don’t know what is going on in the front of the crowd.  It is virtually impossible to “give him some space” when the people pushing in the back don’t know what is going on or what has happened.  This story makes me think about what I might have done had I been there.  I suppose if I was near the front of that mob I may have unwittingly contributed to the trampling, not so much at that point because I was trying to get in the store to get a bargain but more because at that point I’d be scrambling to get out of the way!  Yikes!  What an awful scene.  It is one of the reasons that I avoid the “Black Friday” shopping all together.  I definitely get claustrophobic in crowds like that.

  5. AngelAware says:

    **Sigh** I havent heard about it yet Im not suprised….it happeend last year too, but I dont know if the person died then too? and it was Walmart too. I dont even bother going to those. Yes I need discounts and a good sale….But I dont want to put myself in that kind of mad rush and angry greed and malice treatment. One woman I saw right after she went told me people were smashing her into her cart….sheeesh…I could NEVER treat another human that way   Yeah Merry Christmas…….sad.

  6. fwren says:

    Makes me sick to my stomach.  Yes, dear Lord, have mercy ~

  7. What a sad world we live in. The people I’ve talked to today can’t really believe this happened.

  8. homefire says:

    @davidpendleton – I know you’re right that probably most of the people who stepped on that man probably simply couldn’t stop with all the pushing behind them.  I just keep thinking of all the people who today are living with the knowledge that their feet are one of the hundred or so that stepped on him.  You know they had to realize it after the fact.  How absolutely horrible.  I’ve also thought that the stores are somewhat at fault.  They advertise something for a ridiculously low price, then only have 5 of them, but there are a hundred people who try to buy one.  That makes 95 frantic shoppers who end up going through all that for no reason.  I wonder if this will be a wake-up call that really something needs to change?  I wonder if we CAN change it?  Or is it like so many other aspects of our society that seems to be spiraling out of control?

  9. joy4jesus424 says:

    utter madness! Nicole reported after she got home from working at walmart in Troy Friday night that a man punched a lady and her daughter because she had taken the last xbox off the shelf. Shame on us for participating in this ridiculous frenzy! I refuse to contribute in any way to what we have become! There is NOTHING more awesome on the Friday after Thanksgiving than to gather with our families and enjoy the opportunity to be together!

  10. the_grat says:

    @homefire – i don’t think so.  i think that ‘society’ has always been damaged, to one extent or another.  for example, in many states in the US, black people were not allowed to vote until 1965.  the atrocities committed against many of them during even the last 100 years have been incredible.  some of those deaths were brutal, and premeditated, as well as accepted by the local legal authorities.  but was it any better 200 years ago ??or 3-500 years ago ?? why did so many flock to america to begin with ?  what were they facing in france and england ?  was it not truly that bad back then ?did society intervene against the inquisition ?and after the pilgrims landed here, and began to build a ‘new way of life’… what of the trail of tears ?  and did society care at that point ?some of them did, yes.  just like today.  some of society cares.  some appeared not to.  but it is not the degeneration of society.  it has always been ‘this bad.’  even in your bible are written accounts so horrible and tragic that i would not permit my child to read them.  brutal murder, torture, cruelty, and rape.  absolom tried to steal the kingdom from david, saul stood by and held the coats of men (society) who stoned stephen to death, for … what good purpose ?and what did ‘society’ do to the christ ?

  11. ShineOn1983 says:

    Horrifyingly upsetting! Let our light so shine that we may be a different example before men.

  12. homefire says:

    @the_grat – Interesting viewpoint.  Yes, people have always been wicked to some degree, but I do think that it goes in cycles.  Societies have more “civilized times,” I think, and we have been in a pretty polite time for the past few years.  I had never really thought of premeditated racial crimes being related to violence in the marketplace, but you definitely have a point.  In both cases, the mob mentality can completely take over a person’s better judgment   One difference is that when the KKK were lynching blacks, they still had enough shame to hide under robes and the cover of darkness.  Another thought:  most of the situations you mention were perpetrated (or in the case of KKK episodes, overlooked) by government, and simply ignored by the common people, whereas this WAS the common people.  It’s anarchy vs. government persecution.  Not to say that hasn’t happened before, but I do believe that it’s a sign of a general change of values in America.

Leave a Reply

