Let’s Hear it For Prepositions!

Have you ever heard the rule, “Never end a sentence with a preposition?”  Well, I’ve just decided that is a dumb rule, and one that I hereby declare myself free from!  I mean, what did they ever make a rule like that for? 

Of course, I was quite inspired by Winston Churchill, one of my very favorite people to quote from.

Not ending sentences with prepositions is nonsense
up with which I will not put!          –W.C.

That guy is SO great! 

And have you ever heard the sentence that ends with not one, but five prepositions?

Little kid to his dad, who has promised to read him a story if he’d get into bed and wait: “What did you bring that book I didn’t want to be read to out of up for?”

So the next time someone tells you that you shouldn’t end a sentence with a preposition, ask them, “What in the world are you talking about?”  Because after all, prepositions are a perfectly fine thing to end a sentence with.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Hear it For Prepositions!

  1. fwren says:

    A.M.E.N. ~ I try and I try and I try not to end sentences with prepositions, but somehow, there always seems to be ONE sentence that just HAS to be ended with one ~ why does it matter anyway, in the big scheme of things, and who got to make that rule anyway?  And then, didn’t someone make another statement that says something like, “rules are made to be broken”?  Now, that is a silly rule if I ever heard one ~ what’s that all about? 

  2. BooksForMe says:

    LOL  That is so funny.  Good for you!  And, I love WC, too!  Can you recommend a good biography?

Leave a Reply

