Quote

The light of a candle will not diminish no matter how many may come to light their torches by it.
~Ambroise Paré, the founder of modern surgery.


 


And a quick recommend:  If you want to read a very good post about abortion, check this out:  http://randyalcorn.blogspot.com/ 


Interesting questions–are you pro-choice about rape? 
Is abortion better or worse than rape? 
Something to think about…


Edit:  Just to clear up exactly what I was saying there…I’m not asking if you’re in favor of abortion if a woman is raped.  I’m asking if you think RAPE should be a matter of choice.  As in, a politician saying “*I* of course, would not choose to rape a woman, but I think that’s something that should be up to the individual.  Each man should be able to choose whether or not he rapes.” 


Ridiculous?  Is it?  Which destroys more potential?  Abortion or rape?

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quote

  1. Simbathe2nd says:

    I am absolutely Pro-Life regarding rape even. Maybe you can give the baby up for adoption. I can understand that but to kill it is just wicked in any case.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’m prolife in all cases.  Regardless of how horrible the circumstances surrounding the conception might have been, it is NEVER the baby’s fault.

  3. homefire says:

    @Simbathe2nd – @Papillon_Mom – No, you both misunderstood me!  I just edited it to be more clear.

  4. Simbathe2nd says:

    @homefire – Oh ok I get it wow that is a dumb statement on anybodies part.

  5. Anonymous says:

    To me, they are just as bad.  Personally, I think abortion destroys more potential, as a rape victim can come back and be stronger.  But they are both horrendous. 

  6. Anonymous says:

    Which destroys more potential?  A murder destroys 100% of the potential for that person.  Rape, as horribly tragic as it is, doesn’t destroy ALL potential.

  7. fwren says:

    Makes one wonder ~ HOW did this person get elected to ANYTHING???

  8. homefire says:

    @fwren – Um, if you’re meaning my quote, that was purely hypothetical.  No politican ever said that, to my knowledge.  I just find it interesting that people would be completely outraged by the idea of being for rape choice, but don’t feel that way about abortion choice.  To me, they are very similar, except for the tiny little item Brad mentioned–one kills a person forever, the other doesn’t.  Nope, not a tiny item.  You’re right.

  9. ElizabethDNB says:

    I answered some in a pos, but have to work up to the next part, because it makes me feel vulnerable.  I know most of my friends disagree with me, and while that does not change my opinions or the strength of them it does make me feel a little exposed when I open up on that level.  But I did want you to know that I got your message, totally agree with the talking part and since I have gotten other similar emails and messages decided to respond in a post.

  10. BooksForMe says:

    Great quote, and what a question!  I’m gonna have to remember that one.  And, I think abortion is the “winner” as far as destroyed potential. 

Leave a Reply

