America’s Failure

I was reading John Gatto’s latest essay today, and he summed up so nicely what I think is wrong in America today. 



Maturity has by now been banished from nearly every aspect of our lives. Easy divorce laws have removed the need to work at relationships; easy credit has removed the need for fiscal self-control; easy entertainment has removed the need to learn to entertain oneself; easy answers have removed the need to ask questions. We have become a nation of children, happy to surrender our judgments and our wills to political exhortations and commercial blandishments that would insult actual adults.


Actually, though, I guess I shouldn’t have titled this post America’s failure, because it’s very possible that this is exactly what was intended.  It is, after all, in the best interests of the ruling classes to create consumers–those who accept what they are told without question, who buy what they see advertised without evaluation, who vote for the person the media recommends.  It’s sad, but maybe we are finally seeing the overwhelming success of the American education system.  Over the past 100 years or so, have we managed to create a mass of children who never actually grow up?


Dh just read me something that rips my heart out, but it is a perfect example of a child whose parents have never learned to be responsible.  Here it is:


Michigan teenager abandoned at Nebraska hospital




LINCOLN, Neb. (AP) — Nebraska officials say another teenager from outside the state has been left at an Omaha hospital under the state’s safe haven law.


Todd Landry with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services says a 13-year-old Michigan boy was left at Creighton University Medical Center Monday morning.


This is the second time since law went into effect in July that a child from outside the state has been left at a hospital in Nebraska. To date, 18 children between the ages of 1 and 17 have been abandoned.


Last week, a 14-year-old girl from Iowa was left at an Omaha hospital by her grandparents. She has since been returned to her family.


Nebraska’s unique safe-haven law allows children as old as 18 to be abandoned without fear of prosecution.


 


OH, GOD…..HAVE MERCY. 


What have we done???

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to America’s Failure

  1. Anonymous says:

    We are living in the midst of one of the most pagan nations that has ever graced this planet.  We thrive on child sacrifice and human depravity.  We are worse than Sodom and Gomorah.  And no, I am not exaggerating. 

  2. Anonymous says:

    Wow… that is scary.  I can’t believe Nebraska would have a law like that!!

  3. BooksForMe says:

    Yesterday, it occurred to me that sometimes God judges a nation by allowing them to have a bad leader.  That thought was really disturbing to me.  Then, a Xanga friend wrote a post comparing America in Iraq to the Khmer Rouge in Cambodia and the Hutus in Rwanda.  She is from another country.  I know what she believes is not true, but Obama himself has characterized our soldiers this way.  Why should a foriegner disagree with the man the U.S. media has practically all ready declared our country’s savior?Then, I picked up “The Vision” last night.  And, I’ve been thnking and thinking about that young man who seems willing to do or say anything in defense of Obama, but won’t even declare he’s voting for him.  What kind of insanity is this?  Who are these people?  Is this generation really so stupid? Gatto is one reason I began homeschooling.  His writing terrified me.  And, what he says here is very much what Mark Bauerlein says in The Dumbest Generation, a book Doug recently finished reading. I hate to say it, but I think you are exactly right.  This society will not object to a one-world government.  They will do whatever they’re told to do.  They won’t seek answers for themselves.  They don’t study history.  They do’t study anything.  And, unfortunately, too many people who call themselves Christians are just followers, too.  And, not followers of Christ, but followers of whatever Christian star is in the spotlight today.  They don’t read the Bible for themseves—they listen to someone else tell them what it says.  For the first time in my life, I find myself really anticipating for the Lord’s return.  There are life experiences I still long for, but for the first time I find myself looking out the window for my Bridegroom, eagerly anticipating His coming. I guess that’s a really good thing, but it’s also really sobering. Oh, God have mercy, indeed.

  4. Scary stuff is happening right here in the United States.I asked one of my co-workers why they were voting for Barak Obama. She said because he was cool but, she didn’t know what he stood for. The blind leading the blind?

  5. Anonymous says:

    Simply incredible.  We may very well get the leader we deserve this time.  Even so, God will be merciful to His elect.

  6. fwren says:

    The breakdown of the families of America ~ doesn’t bode well for this nation ~

  7. @Hecalmsthestorm – Actually, you most certainly are. NO Pagans I know have dropped their children off somewhere. We are a strong community with families we love, just like christians are, and while I’m at it we don’t worship the devil or engage in or promote human sacrifice. WE DO NOT DO THAT!! It hurts me to think that people really believe that we Pagans don’t treasure our children and we want to hurt them. And in case no one has noticed, christians have a 79-85% majority in this country. Don’t blame everything that’s wrong here on us.

  8. Anonymous says:

    @Celtic_Butterfly – When I said child sacrifice I was referring to abortion.

  9. Again, we are not the majority and we are not in charge, and you’re still blaming us for something we had no control over. 

  10. homefire says:

    @Celtic_Butterfly – No one is blaming you specifically.  We simply blame the abandonment of God in general.  When we honor God, those things do not happen.  And believe me, Christians are NOT in the majority either–those are very deceptive statistics.

  11. @homefire – Oh, so that must be why there’s a Pagan, Buddhist, or Hindu temple on every corner of every street in America. because christians are the minority. Makes perfect sense. 

  12. homefire says:

    @Celtic_Butterfly – I don’t think you understand exactly what I was saying.  Many of those who honor God with their lips are not living their lives for him.  To put it very bluntly, a large percentage of those who claim to be Christians simply are not.  Statistics only show how many call themselves Christians.  I think there are many so-called Christians who have never actually practiced the faith and hardly even know what it actually entails.  In fact, I know a pagan who goes to a “Christian” church and finds it does not conflict with her beliefs. 

  13. fwren says:

    Totally off the subject, dear homefire ~ C.O.N.G.R.A.T.U.L.A.T.I.O.N.S. ~ “GRANDMA!!!”     

  14. Gatto’s article is excellent and true.  Yes, we are “The little dab will do ya society”…Cut the commitment strings….no problem…brides walking down the aisles thinking if this doesn’t work?  Divorce works.  Pregnant? ….We know the sad answer….  It’s a horrible disposable society isn’t it?  Daddies who are perpetual boys…Mommies who crave luxury more than time with their children… The church as a whole remains pretty silent…I blame so much on the church.I so enjoy your entries…I have much the same thoughts on things…very much so.God bless you and be with you!  Until the next time..Be encouraged! : )   ~Amelia

  15. homefire says:

    @fwren – sheesh, how did you find out so fast??????

Leave a Reply

