Profoundly Hilarious

That’s the rating I decided on for Wussification.  I think this guy has a real gift for being totally hilarious, while still making some very important statements–something most people just aren’t able to successfully combine.  He had a few thoughts in this DVD that were just plain great, communicating deep truths, and yet it was SO funny.  Highly recommended, as are all his other titles! 


Another person who seems able to combine nonsense with deep thoughts is Norton Juster. 








Currently Reading
The Phantom Tollbooth
By Norton Juster
see related


 

The entire book is  ridiculous, but wonderfully well-written, and woven in here and there is a statement that makes you say, “Wow!  That is a really good point!”  I just thought it was interesting that I’ve experienced, in the space of one week, two examples of communicating serious issues by unorthodox means.  Neat.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Profoundly Hilarious

  1. PreciousOnyx says:

    what exactly is Wussification about? i’m up for hilarious if it’s clean and not sacreligious…

  2. Anonymous says:

    What she said ^ ^

  3. I still haven’t read Phantom Tollbooth. One of these days…

  4. homefire says:

    Well, he really comes down hard on political correctness.  He points out that even though Jesus was without sin, he wasn’t a “wuss,” and wasn’t afraid to stand up for what is right. citing the scenes with the moneychangers and the Pharisees.  He says that Americans can sacrifice truth in order to be politically correct and not offend people.  Does a great job of giving totally ridiculous examples.And it’s clean, though he does use the word fart pretty freely (to make a point.)  As for sacreligious, I didn’t find it so at all.  He does poke fun at religious institutions, but never at God. 

  5. homefire says:

    @TeacherPerson – I thought I had read it years ago, but discovered when I started on it that I had missed out.  Finally reading it for the first time at 45 years old!    (or am I 46?  Sheesh,I forget–it changes every year!)

Leave a Reply

