More on the Media

I just read an article that struck a chord with me,  Sarah_Palin_and_the_Double_Standard   It’s a good article, as far as it goes.  She says that many are asking, ” Should a mother with five children, one of them a pregnant teen and another an infant with special needs, be running for vice president?” and then makes the point that no one asks this question about a man.  Since I’m happy to be a stay-at-home mom, I confess that I can’t imagine doing what Sarah Palin is doing, BUT I think the article misses a key question: 



Would anyone be asking those questions if Sarah Palin were a Democrat??


I think not.  If she were on the Democratic ticket, for instance, I would guess that the reports we’d hear would point out her unselfishness in choosing to birth a child with Downs syndrome, her bravery in standing up to big oil corporations, and applaud her determination to better this country for the sake of her children.  We’d hear that she is just an average American with simple tastes, while the opposition lives in a mansion.  We’d get a feature story on her 17 year old pregnant daughter, lauding her courage and strength in a difficult situation.  Miss Palin would become a poster girl for some Democratic program for unwed mothers. 


The bias that we see in the media is almost laughable sometimes because it’s so obvious.  Why don’t more Americans see it?  (Is this related to the dumbing down of the schools over the past few decades?)

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to More on the Media

  1. Anonymous says:

    I think you are 100% correct.  If she were a dem, she would be getting applauded.

  2. SpazzyMommy says:

    Although I too had the thought how is she going to assit in running a country, a home and be the grandmother of a newborn, plan a wedding and in the midst of that care for a special needs child??  However………I notice that this point was only brought up by opposition. I think to be fair- the question does need to be asked…and to be fair….I think she should be applauded for the stands that she does take and the standards that she does hold. 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    I myself have doubts about Sarah Palin’s ability to “do it all” — but then I’m a Christian, and that is what I truly believe.  Unlike Katie Couric and company who seem to have suddenly discovered “family values” (how many hours do they spend apart from their families in order to do their network jobs?)  I also believe that if Sarah Palin were a democrat she would be held up as a strong example to women.  The hypocrisy is simply stunning.

  4. lookin4Jesus says:

    I thought the following email I got might interest you:Pray for Sarah Palin! by Jan Markell Gov. Sarah Palin has come on the scene like a shot in the dark and in one week she has shaken a number of establishments. I have just spoken to my friend Nonie Darwish who also is my radio guest this weekend and one of our “Understanding the Times 2008” speakers. Nonie understands safety issues as she is under the gun 24/7. Steve Emerson calls Nonie, “the bravest former Muslim woman in the world.” She’s not a sensationalist or an alarmist. The first words out of her mouth–as a fellow woman in the spotlight — were, “Pray for Sarah. Pray for her safety.” Nonie is extremely concerned about this.

  5. mamaglop says:

    Why don’t more Americans see it?  I ask and ask myself that question.  I hope they do.  Seeing the double standard doesn’t mean the medial will instantly implode.As for Sarah, It is a lot to take on.  I suppose I am exhibiting the double standard by being glad for the decision she has made. Her son will get the best of care, and early childhood stimulation is very important… Dad will be Mr. Mom, I suppose… I wonder if he will ever be able to fish again…Will there be secret servicemen with them all the time now?

  6. ElizabethDNB says:

    I am an extreemly liberal left wing person, and I do not agree at all with a mom of young kids being president, vice pres or even governer, or working at all.  I would LOVE to have a qualified woman president, but she better either be childless or have grown kids to get my vote.  And it is a bit of a double standard, but it is what it is.  I was concerned about voting for Obama, because of his young kids, but a dad is different from a mom.  THey are gone at work, that is what they should be doing.  Ideally my pres would not have minor children, but if they do I would want it to be the dad.  This is not a political thing, just a matter of right and wrong and I would say this even if I agreed with Sarah Palin and wanted her in office.

  7. AngelAware says:

    I Agree I was emailed a great Video of her talking at her church….its really good!

  8. gsmith03 says:

    If she were a Democrat, I am sure we would see people like Sean Hannity and Rush Limbaugh asking these same questions.  You probably wouldn’t hear it too much on CNN, but Fox News would have plenty of people saying it, I’m sure.  The bias is there, but it goes both ways.Part of the reason why this is also being brought to light is because Sarah Palin is so in favor of abstinence-only education, saying that it helps prevent teen pregnancy because it teaches children not to have sex until marriage.  Yet it is ironic that her teenage daughter is pregnant.But I think the article does have a point.  There still is sexism in this country.  Hillary Clinton has remarked on countless occasions how women don’t make the same wage as men.  We have yet to elect a woman for president or vice-president, and in fact only two have ever been nominated by a major party: Sarah Palin and Geraldine Ferraro.  Though we are not near as sexist as we were in, say, the 1920s, the sexes are not completely equal now.  But I think the same thing can also be said for race.I think Palin was a good choice politically for John McCain.  It helps unite the conservative base of the Republican party, which he definitely can’t afford to estrange.  The problem he could still potentially have is trying to pull moderates and independents, which have so far been going for Obama for the most part.  I will not vote for McCain-Palin, but it has nothing to do with Sarah Palin being a woman or a mom.  I will not vote for the ticket because I disagree with them on MANY issues (abortion, gay marriage, Iraq war, and others).  The smear campaign doesn’t affect my vote one way or the other.

  9. fwren says:

    Sitting in a motel room the last few days, I have been amazed to see/hear all the biased comments.  Politics!

  10. AngelAware says:

    Where were you yesterday??….LL

  11. marys_hubby says:

    You are right on the money!  The bias is unbelievable this election season. I think the only way to get them to back off would be for the Republicans to win the White House and both houses on Congress in a landslide this November.  That would force them to go with a different approach (you would hope). 

  12. CHOBLIT says:

    You hit the nail on the head when posing the question, ” Would anyone be asking those questions if Sarah Palin were a Democrat???  Of course not and isn’t it interesting that it seems it’s Palin vs Obama?  Her credentials are stronger than his, and that’s really got Obama worried.  God save America!

Leave a Reply

