For His Good

To continue my last post, I read on a bit and found:



We who are strong have an obligation to bear with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves.  Let each of us please his neighbor for his good, to build him up. 
Romans 15 :1-2


Aha!  Now that is making more sense to me.  Setting aside speculation on whether I am one of the strong or one of the weak (which actually may change from day to day and from situation to situation) I can see that the whole process is done for my brother’s good, to build him up


So it’s not a matter of saying, “Sure, I’ll change whatever you want,” to any random request.  Instead, it boils down to looking carefully at the situation and checking with the Holy Spirit.  I need to examine my life occasionally, noting areas where there are differences from other Christians around me, and evaluate whether some area where I exercise freedom might cause others to stumble.  Just as Angels Aware mentioned in a comment on the last post, perhaps a parent’s use of alcohol could give their children the impression that drinking is fine.  That parent may need to be more careful to talk with their children and explain what is acceptable and what isn’t, as well as examining their own attitudes toward alcohol a little more carefully.  If you have a passion for watching sports, make sure that your children know that going to worship service is a bigger priority for you than watching the game.  Show them that they are more important to you than watching the game. 


Let’s exemplify what is best for each other, and build each other up in the Lord!

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to For His Good

  1. keynee says:

    I believe this is about criticizing someone who is a believer but does not believe in the same freedoms you do. It’s not so much about  sinning and causing someone to stumble it’s about letting God grow each believer in His timing not yours.14 I know and am convinced by the Lord Jesus that there isnothing unclean of itself; but to him who considers anything to beunclean, to him it is unclean. Here is The Message12So tend to your knitting. You’ve got your hands full just taking care of your own life before God.13Forgetabout deciding what’s right for each other. Here’s what you need to beconcerned about: that you don’t get in the way of someone else, makinglife more difficult than it already is. 14I’mconvinced–Jesus convinced me!-that everything as it is in itself isholy. We, of course, by the way we treat it or talk about it, cancontaminate it.15Ifyou confuse others by making a big issue over what they eat or don’teat, you’re no longer a companion with them in love, are you? These,remember, are persons for whom Christ died. Would you risk sending themto hell over an item in their diet? 16Don’t you dare let a piece of God-blessed food become an occasion of soul-poisoning!

  2. jacsnews says:

    I, too, believe that we have a big enough job making sure that our lives are pleasing to God in every way so that we have no time left to be criticizing others for their actions.  “Only to be what God wants me to be every moment of every day.”  If we are pleasing God and others take offense at something we do, that is their problem not ours.  We simply cannot please others all the time, but we can live in such a way that we please God.  May God bless you in your walk with Him ~Judy

  3. mom1945 says:

    It all boils down to fulfilling the command to Love one another. If we love our brother we are going to do and say what is best for him. If we love our children we are going to sacrifice some of our fleshly desires to set the right example for them. Because of love we will spend time training them for the glory of God. And because of that love we will deny self and not be so easily offended. Because of love we will be sensitive to the needs of the weaker brother. Because of love we will even sacrifice sleep to spend time in prayer for the weaker brother. Seems like the whole law can be summed up in that one command to, “love one another as I have loved you!” God’s love is so unconditional!

  4. AngelAware says:

    Oh I Love that!!!

  5. gsmith03 says:

    Thanks for your comment.  I don’t take it as rebuke; I intended to spark some conversation/debate by posting it.To be honest, I think it’s somewhere in between.  While I don’t ascribe to the idea that we have no control over our lives, our actions, and our decisions (that is a religious concept, in fact), I still think there are things outside of our control.  I made the conscious decision to believe when I was young, made the decision to keep believing as I got older, and eventually stopped believing.  However, it isn’t as though one day I just decided I was going to stop believing.  I read the Bible and prayed, asking questions, yet the answers never came.  So I dug into the Bible and into church more, hoping that if I became more and more engrossed in it that I would find answers.  But none came.  I cried out in desperation (to a certain extent, I still do) for someone, anyone, to give me an answer that would satisfy my desperate yearning.  But none came.  I was at a time in my life where I had to make a decision about which way to go, and “God” was noticeably silent.  And so, yes, I did consciously decide to stop believing, but only after many desperate attempts to keep believing.I have finally started to find some answers on this path I am on, and they are leading me further and further away from Christianity.  You might see that as a bad thing, I don’t know.  All I know is that I am starting to actually enjoy life, I am finally having the courage to pursue my life’s dreams, and I am optimistic about the future.  Yes, I still fear that I may be doomed for Hell, but I am not going to give in to terrorism, letting myself be controlled by fear.  I realized that life is much fuller when I don’t fear what is around every corner.

  6. Good common sense advice.  People would do well to take it.RYC- thank you for your empathy and encouragement.May the Lord bless you.

  7. @gsmith03 – It’s just the opposite in the fear you talk about. For me, God’s Grace and Mercy take away all fear. My fear of God has become a reverence for Him. Trust in Christ give you that SURE hope that you are secure in His love and NO ONE can take it away.If you’ve been in fear, it’s called deception from the devil. He will lead you away from the truth and paint it to be a wonderful thing. That is my fear for you. God answers in His timing. Maybe He hasn’t answered you because you only want it your way and not God’s way, so He has left you to do it your way. Motive of the heart play a strong role in our believing in God. Search my heart oh God, show me any wickness in me and cleanse me of it. I pray you don’t give up on God, the other road leads to deasaster.In Christ~Grampy~

  8. I would say the simple answer is treat your brother as you would treat yourself(In every way you would take care of yourself) I did a post on it a while back with an exerp from John Pipers book “What Jesus Demands From The World” an excellent book to read and study if you haven’t. Many demands we don’t even think about as a demand are in this book. Hope you are having a blessed Sunday.~Grampy~

  9. Amen! I have been refreshing myself in things I used to do when the kids were younger, and, guess what? They still work!  Those ways of acting and directing them to the Lord. 

Leave a Reply

