Ramblings of Politics and Persecution

I just watched a video of Barack Obama’s former pastor.  The poor man obviously has never learned (or at least has not embraced) some of the basics of Christianity, namely love and forgiveness.  And some of the words he says are in the Bible certainly aren’t in MY Bible.  I find it really appalling that people who call themselves Christians flock to hear someone whine about the victimization of their ancestors and damn the country they live in.  I have no idea how many of the people in that applauding, cheering audience are currently being provided with food and medical care paid for by tax money, but if there were any, they are incredible hypocrites. 


I have a lot of trouble with the victim mentality.  Sure, blacks were mistreated.  Horribly.  So were Jews and Gypsies and Serbs and American Indians and Kurds and many, many others, but does that mean that their progeny should have special privileges from now until eternity?  Where is the justice in that?  How does it help what is past?  And aren’t Christians supposed to forget the things that are behind and press toward the mark? 


I realize that it’s easy for me as a middle class white housewife to say these things, but I also know that this man screaming about being a “poor black man” is not poor.  And anyone who says that 9/11 was what America deserved just isn’t demonstrating much love for his fellow man. 


I’m not particularly interested in politics, but I am interested in truth, and I didn’t hear that in this clip.  It worries me greatly that our possible future president has been indoctrinated with this venom for years.  Where are the brains of the American people?  How can we forget how very good our lives are?  Why do we want to attack the government that has allowed us to live in peace and luxury like no country ever has before?


Ah, well, it all boils down to the fact that time is winding down.  This is inevitable, but that doesn’t make it any easier to face.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ramblings of Politics and Persecution

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great post and very well said!!  Maybe the only bright spot is that Obama probably was not at the church services very much.  Somehow I doubt he is a regular attender.

  2. lookin4Jesus says:

    “As Barack Obama broadens his outreach to evangelical voters, one of the movement’s biggest names, James Dobson, accuses the likely Democratic presidential nominee of distorting the Bible and pushing a “fruitcake interpretation” of the Constitution.”I just read this (and it goes on to explain more) in a Prophezine alert I receive. I think, like you, that time is winding down; there isn’t anything we can do but accept it and lean on the Lord knowing that He is our shield and rock of defense and He will keep us through whatever comes our way, and these things must happen for the end to come. (I’m not saying we shouldn’t pray for all men to come to a knowledge of the truth and work to spread the Gospel, but we’re told in the Bible these things will happen.) I feel the emotions of anger at truth distortion and fear so easily if I dwell on them, but we must keep our focus on our Lord having a strong relationship with Him and caring for others. I don’t think there’s ever been a time like today in the history of mankind. Luk 21:34 “But watch yourselves lest your hearts be weighed down with dissipation and drunkenness and cares of this life, and that day come upon you suddenly like a trap.” Don’t we long for truth and righteousness and for our Lord to be glorifed? Maranatha!!!

  3. wearywalden says:

    You hit the nail on the head. It is easy to gain notoriety and a big congregation by telling people, that deserve this or that has been taken away from them unfairly. It is harder, when you preach love and forgiveness for those who have wronged you or for your enemies.

  4. JandJinJapan says:

    My problem with Sen. Obama is that he said he went there to Rev. Wright’s church for 20 years and never heard him preach like that:  either he’s lying through his teeth, or he sleeps through the man’s sermons (though, how someone could do that is amazing…).  Nobody could sit through service after service for 20 years and never hear somethign like the sermns that Wright preached, especially of late.God help the USA if Obama wins…..

  5. ShineOn1983 says:

    You said it, sista:)

  6. I enjoyed reading through your ABC’s–taming spiders. Hee heeI, too, struggle with the people who dwell on pity or blame. Life is what it is. It doesn’t mean that they were treated well or right, but to bring it up over and over again means that it is what defines them and is most important to them. When I read stories of those tortured for Christ and how they moved on and forgave, I am always convicted about my own “poor me” attitude. 

  7. AngelAware says:

    I am in total agreement with you. I have been judge horribley just because I was blonde or not rich….I was treated very poorly…I dont run around yelling I am a victime. I do get very annoyed with *that* vicyim attitude when nothing even EVER happened to them PERSONALLY! When I was in 8th grade I was surrounded in the locker room by 4 black girlls and they beat me up because I was white. I got over it. People just wanna be stupid is all I think. When it comes to the government, God says to OBEY them and pray for them. Not complaine about them and preach bad things about them for sure. Just because your a middle class white house wife doesent mean its easy for you to say. So am I…and I bet some time in your life someone treated you wrong. I bet you forgave them and dident walk around hateing everyone who looked like them ya know!  anyways….I agree with you.RYC:….about the toes Noooo, we have all normal toes. The father of the kittens has 6 toes tho…LOL

  8. I don’t like the victim mentality either. It’s really unfair. I protest. The funny thing is that we naturally seperate ourselves out…I was walking around the track in the upper part of the YMCA and I looked down into the basketball courts. They were divided in half by a large curtain. On one side was birds of one feather, and on the other were birds of another feather. They’re all birds, but it wouldn’t do to tell them that, they get a little funny about that. Reminds me of an opera song, “You have to be carefully taught…” We have to carefully teach our own how to deal with such and be forgiving of those who were carefully taught to despise others because of book-covers.

  9. homefire says:

    @TheUnmaskedAvenger – Good point.  Attitudes are passed along through teaching.  Thank God that it’s not inevitable, though.  I had grandparents who were quite racist, but it ended at that generation, thankfully.  It CAN be done, but it won’t with people like Jeremiah Wright keeping it alive.  He has a lot to answer for.

  10. lookin4Jesus says:

    Thought this might be of interest to you:”Faked certificate suggests that Obama may not be “natural born” US citizen By Reuven Koret June 24, 2008 It is now a certainty that the “birth certificate” claimed by the Barack Obama campaign as authentic is a photoshopped fake. The image, purporting to come from the Hawaii Department of Health, has been the subject of intense skepticism in the blogosphere in the past two weeks. But now the senior spokesman of that Department has confirmed to Israel Insider what are the required features of a certified birth document — features that Obama’s purported “birth certificate” clearly lack….. The issue is not whether Obama is black or white, Christian or Muslim. It is whether he was born in the USA and thus a citizen eligible according to the Constitution to run for President. If proof of citizenship does not exist, then surely it would be wiser to admit it now. Because if Barack Hussein Obama II does not produce definitive proof of his “natural born” American citizenship with original, verifiable documents, he will be setting the stage for a very public battle over his personal credibility, the basic legitimacy of his candidacy, and its possible criminality.”

Leave a Reply

