Another Quote

After rambling through a wonderful post from Joel  (which I highly recommend) I came away with a quote that really stuck in my brain.  I guess that as much as things change, they really stay the same in many ways.  It still applies today.


Cursed be that love and unity which cannot be preserved except at the peril of the Word of God.
~Martin Luther


Indeed.  There are some things Martin Luther said that I wouldn’t agree with at all (his views on the Jews were totally warped) but this is just excellent.  Amen and amen.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Another Quote

  1. AngelAware says:

    WOW Yesterdays quote hit me right there —><—-  Its very true. Maybe I need to move my eyes and look for my door   RYC:…… Lynette and Mike are opening  The House Of Flavors  in Manistee…The man who ownes the House of flavors in Ludington, well His son..bought the one in Manistee back from the Indians. And this month Lynette and Mike have been hired to open it. Im going to be working with them pretty soon.

  2. mom1945 says:

    Some things never change. God’s love , His faithfulness, His plan of salvation, sin being wrong etc. I may not be interperting this right but it seems to me it is saying that trials and tribulations have a way of uniting us. Kind of like my children. They can be fussing and fighting among themselves but should a crisis arise or someone pick on one of them, they stand united against the enemy. πŸ™‚ I like that quote from Martin Luther also.God bless your day!

  3. fwren says:

    Wow!  Profound ~

  4. homefire says:

    @mom1945 – Hmmm.  I guess that wasn’t what I got out of it at all.  What I thought of was this:  If we are willing to ignore the Word of God in order to preserve some earthly unity, we are not truly committed to Him.  Even unity and peace can become idolatry if we sacrifice the purity of the Word to keep it.So what does everyone else make of that quote?  What do you think it means?  Comments??

  5. mom1945 says:

    I guess my interpertation was off base. Your interpertation makes more sense. Yes, I’ve seen how “striving for unity above all else can cause us to sacrifice scriptural truths..” At that point, peace and unity can become our idol. It seems like peace and unity would always be a good thing but if that means submitting to a group who has taken a stand against something scriptural then we are sacrificing too much for “earthly” peace and unity. Thanks for sharing!

  6. fwren says:

    I think you are right on, homefire. 

  7. Anonymous says:

    Good Quote.  makes me think along a rabbit trail…There is a notion, recently new to me, regarding “Family Worship.”  The meaning is that with the focus in recent years on  Family devotions and Homeschooling, families may become ingrown.  Family is everything.  The notion of Family becomes one of placing the “family altar” on some altar and worshiping it.I believe deeply in the values of family, family devotions, strong marriages and homeschooling; but is it possible to carry things to “peril” until this “peace and unity” are preserved so well that we miss something else?  [I don’t think the world is presently at any risk of investing too much in family]What is that something else?  Failing to provide family for the elderly?  The unmarried?  How can we provide them with love and unity and still stand for the family?  Back on the main trail now…any time we compromise the Word of God we have walked away from the fountain of blessing. 

  8. bafocus_2 says:

    @homefire –  “If we are willing to ignore the Word of God in order to preserve some earthly unity, we are not truly committed to Him.  Even unity and peace can become idolatry if we sacrifice the purity of the Word to keep it.” I was thinking along these lines when I read it. I’ll admit it took me several readings to get the true meaning out of it. And you have summed it up with the above sentences much better than I was able to do. I believe the “earthly unity” part is where many trip up. We need a True Spiritual Unity that ties us to God, and if earthly unity can be achieved inside of that particular circle, then well and good. However to sacrifice purity, or other Godly standards (truth, charity, brotherly love, etc.) to maintain an earthly unity borders on being sacreligious…..that may not be the right word, but is all I can think of right now……. and puts whomever does it at peril of their salvation! My view of this might be a little tinted by our experiences here, but I still think I understand the concept presented here.Gods Blessings!!

  9. homefire says:

    @bafocus_2 – Would the word blasphemy work?@NewNameWritten – That is something that I had never thought of, but I can see that over-emphasis on family could possibly be a snare.  It makes me think of the element that became convinced that the KJV was the only true word of God, and elevated it to practically idol status, forgetting that ALL English versions are only translations and thus will have flaws.  (At least, I certainly can think of at least one spot that I am quite sure is translated incorrectly in the KJV.)speaking of rabbit trails… 

  10. SpazzyMommy says:

    I can’t believe that I’m not already subscribed to you. (!!!) I remedied that this morning. :)Thanks for the comment….it is amazing what kids can do when they want something! (LOL) I guess that goes the same for adults. πŸ™‚

  11. bafocus_2 says:

    @homefire –  Indeed I do think that works. Some would consider that a tad strong perhaps, but I think it could fit the situation. Could even be backed up scripturally I believe.

  12. homefire says:

    @bafocus_2 – I agree.  It’s not a word that I like to use, but there are places it just fits, unfortunately.

  13. That quote is very interesting to me. There are some times I want to keep peace and just move on, but my husband will push an issue (with the kids) and not let it slide. He wasn’t sacrificing the rightness of the Word of God for unity.  You just made me a more contented woman. 

  14. Ditto on that quote.  Lots of relationships don’t build themselves around the love of God, and it seems like the quote holds true for those.ryc: I find the analogy almost perfect except for the fact that we have pretty strong evidence of the celebrities’ existence through things like pictures and such.  Though there is photoshop.  Hmmm.  Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

