Return and Rest

The scripture that impressed me this morning was in Isaiah 30.


1 “Ah, stubborn children,” declares the LORD,
  “who carry out a plan, but not mine,
  and who make an alliance, but not of my Spirit, 
  that they may add sin to sin;
2 who set out to go down to Egypt, without asking for my direction, 
  to take refuge in the protection of Pharaoh 
  and to seek shelter in the shadow of Egypt!


Do I do that?  Make my own plans, set my own agenda, map my own route, without asking for God’s direction?  Do I look to other sources for protection and comfort, rather than my God?


3 Therefore shall the protection of Pharaoh turn to your shame,
   and the shelter in the shadow of Egypt to your humiliation…
7 Egypt’s help is worthless and empty;
   


What a waste!  Why do I put my trust anywhere else but in God?  That effectively turns that thing into an idol, whether it is a person, a doctor, a church, or whatever.  And God will not tolerate His people turning to idols!


12 Therefore thus says the Holy One of Israel,
 
“Because you despise this word
   and trust in oppression and perverseness
   and rely on them,
13 therefore this iniquity shall be to you
    like a breach in a high wall


Isn’t it odd that anyone would trust in oppression and perverseness?  Why is it that it gives us a feeling of security to be oppressed?  Our God says that this will lead to our destruction (breaching of the wall) so why would we ever be attracted to it?


15 For thus said the Lord GOD, the Holy One of Israel,
 
“In returning [repentance] and rest you shall be saved;
   in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.”
21 And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying,
   “This is the way, walk in it,”
  when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left.
22Then you will defile your carved idols overlaid with silver and your gold-plated metal images.
  You will scatter them as unclean things. You will say to them, “Be gone!”


But praise His name, we can go back.  We can repent, we can listen for His voice.  We can give up our idols. 


Lord, speak in my ear, show me Your way.  Reveal to me any idols in my life, and help me to dispose of them. 


I like the thought that in returning and rest, you shall be saved.  Return to God and REST in Him.  No striving, no struggle–but rest Ah….  what sweetness!  Quietness and trust. 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Return and Rest

  1. jacsnews says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this.  Many times in my prayers I ask God to “Have Thine own way, Lord, Have Thine own way; Hold o’er my being absolute sway; Fill with Thy Spirit till all shall see Christ, only, always, living in me.”  That is the deepest desire of my heart!  God Bless  ~Judy

  2. BooksForMe says:

    Nice post.  Amazing passage.  I wonder what sort of names we could put on oppression and perverseness…

  3. What an excellent post!!

  4. Pingback: Prop Up Those Idols | dayuntoday

Leave a Reply

