How wise am I?

Who is wise and understanding among you?  By his good conduct let him show his works in the meekness of wisdom.  But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast and be false to the truth.  This is not the wisdom that comes down from above, but is earthly, unspiritual, demonic.  For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there will be disorder and every vile practice.  But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.  And a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.           James 3:13-18  ESV


This passage really grabbed me when I read it this morning.  The description of godly wisdom is just what I want to be, and exactly what I want to see in those around me.  Too often we see ambition and jealousy instead, even among church people.  Jealousy and selfish ambition are described as demonic  It makes me realize how very careful I must be.  Am I allowing JESUS to shine his wisdom and understanding through me, or am I filtering Him out because of my ambition and pride?  True wisdom is meek, gentle, reasonable, peaceable–is that what the rest of the world sees in me? 


Ouch.  My toes.


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How wise am I?

  1. bafocus_2 says:

    Yesterday I heard it said like this –  “Jesus in you”      NOT          “Jesus and you”  One little word but it makes a difference!Gods Blessings!!

  2. That’s a lot of ‘food for thoughts’.  That calls for another session of self examination….

  3. Nice site, good points.  Thanks for visiting mine!

  4. fwren says:

    May the Lord guard me from such vile stuff ~ and grant me His wisdom ~

Leave a Reply

